Couple Of Random Thoughts

What is it about Prius drivers in Orange Park? On the way to rehearsal Monday night, I found a car riding right on my bumper going across the Buckman Bridge at maybe slightly over the speed limit … in the far right late. He actually followed me as I shifted across the lanes getting ready to exit, staying literally on my bumper like he was drafting me. Now, I’ll admit that the back of my car, being a convertible, is pretty high. But I also know that particularly at highway speeds, when I can’t see the headlights of the car behind me, they’re too close. I rarely saw the headlights of the Prius … until he finally pulled out to pass me.

As he raced by at about 80 miles per hour, I saw the flash of an Obama bumper sticker on the back of the car. The sticker may be apropos of nothing, but I don’t know why it is that people driving Priuses (Preii?) seem to be second only to the drivers of monstrous pick-up trucks in their aggressiveness.

In any event, once we’d made the turn south onto Roosevelt, Mr. Obama Prius was in and out of traffic, cutting off cars in front, changing lanes to get a car length or two further down the line, racing away from stoplights, I’m sure not getting the 45-50 miles per gallon the car advertises. Of course, I didn’t realize it was a Prius until he’d already gone around me, so I didn’t have time to worry about his brakes while he was about a foot from my rear bumper.

And yes, I drive a Toyota as well, but it’s not one of the recalled models.

And now, for something completely different.

I was watching the Olympics tonight (Tuesday) and the feature event, other than figure skating which seems to be on every night of the 16 days of the games, was Snowboard Cross. I don’t know if you’ve  ever seen Snowboard Cross, but it’s four people in each heat, riding snowboards down an impossibly steep course with multiple jumps, lots of huge air, and gravity doing what gravity does. Making people fall down.

So I’m thinking … what could make this more exciting. What could be more exciting than sliding down an icy hill on a skateboard with no wheels at 60 or 70 miles per hour.

Biathlon.

No, not with a real gun. In keeping with the snowboarding generation, I was thinking paintball.

Paintball snowboard steeplechase biathlon. There’s an Olympic sport for you. Can’t you just see guys flying down a mountain taking potshots at each other with paintball guns. If you make it to the bottom of the hill, they count the number of hits on your uniform and either add or subtract from your score …

Yeah, that’ll knock Curling right off the schedule.

We’ll have to go to the Olympic committee with that one, but I think it’d get big ratings.

I know, two totally unrelated random thoughts, but give me a break, it’s Tuesday …

Bar Code

–scene–

Leave a comment

Filed under Beach Living, Random Stuff, Random Thoughts, Thoughts

Leave a Reply

