I Love Being Validated, And Other Thoughts

Last October, I wrote about the plethora of television programs focusing on the paranormal … ghosts. There are a lot of them. Some of them we even like, and make it a point to watch.

Well, the Times Union picked up an LA Times piece over the weekend that was essentially the same thing … the Paranormal is Hot.

Of course the difference is, the LA Times might have gotten a chance to actually interview Jason and Grant. Me? Not so much.

But it is nice to know that I can still spot a trend. Not that it was difficult to find. Every cable channel seems to have a ghost show, and some of them are miserably bad. It’s the only genre that seems to be ubiquitous across the 500 channel universe. So I was only about 5 months ahead of the LA Times … not bad …

-0-

I need to send a letter to Food Network for a competition show for the rest of us. I’ve been watching “The Worst Cooks In America”, and I’m wondering if there’s any way they could do a “Home Cooks” competition. I’m pretty proficient with the basics, certainly not one of the “worst cooks”, but also not quite ready for the “cater a party for 300 people” challenges of “Next Food Network Star”, or the wacky ingredients of “Chopped”.

But I’m a bit jealous of those people on “Worst Cooks” who get to learn from some of the best chefs in America. It’d be a gas just to go learn and cook in the Food Network kitchens and come away a better cook than I am now.

Maybe I should just sign up for some cooking classes …

-0-

And while we’re on the subject of television, the late-night thing at NBC has turned into a real soap opera. Conan says he’ll quit, not “damage what I consider to be the greatest franchise in the history of broadcasting.” That might be a bit of hyperbole, but I recall watching “The Tonight Show” with Johnny Carson. Nobody hosted late night like Carson, and he did 90 minutes in the early days. Some of his characters and bits are still classics, and I don’t think any of the current crop of late-night hosts has anything like the repertoire that Carson had. Craig Ferguson comes closest with the puppets, I think, but  it’s still not the old “Tonight Show”. Still, CBS gets my late-night viewing … when I can stay awake.  Thank goodness for the DVR.

-0-

As you can probably tell, I’m looking for some direction for Life’s a Beach. I’ve never had much of a focus for the blog, but I’ve let it slide for a while. I’d love to get back to it, but every time I sit down to write, I stare at the blank page and wonder what I have to say. I’m hoping I can find that muse again before too much longer.

Sig

–scene–

Technorati Tags: ,,
Leave a comment

Filed under Blogging, Television, Thoughts

Leave a Reply

