Ghosts

What’s with all the ghost shows? I know Halloween is just a couple of days away, but it seems like everybody suddenly wants a ghost show.

Ghost Hunters, Ghost Hunters International, Ghost Lab, Ghostly Encounters, Paranormal State, Ghost Whisperer, Ghost Adventurers, Destination Truth sometimes does the paranormal thing, and that’s just the tip of the iceberg. No doubt, the paranormal is hot.

And we watch a lot of them, to be honest, but there are only a couple that are set on the DVR. Ghost Hunters and GHI are two of them.

Ghost Hunters may not be the first ghost show, but of the current crop, it’s certainly the best, IMO.

Jason and Grant are plumbers with Roto Rooter. They’re also the founders of TAPS, The Atlantic Paranormal Society. They travel around the country investigating supposedly haunted places, and debunking when they can. They also occasionally comment on the plumbing, which makes them very real.

And I think of all the paranormal shows, I like that one best because they’re real.

All the shows pretty much use the same technology. The K-2 Meters and EMF detectors, digital recording devices, FLIR cameras … gives it some kind of credibility I suppose. 

But so many of the shows have such over-the-top characters that it takes away from the show. Ghost Lab and Ghost Adventurers are the worst of those, I think. Ghost Adventurers in particular takes a swipe at Ghost Hunters in its intro, talking about “no big camera crew.” But Zack and his bunch are such amateurs and such … weenies is the only word I can come up with …  that it’s more a comedy than a a ghost “reality” show.

Jason, Grant, Steve, Tango, Chris, and Amy, however, make the ghosts and the locations the stars of the show. It’s not about them, it’s about finding or debunking the paranormal, and that’s what sets them apart.

Are there ghosts? From what I’ve seen on some of these shows, I’d have to say it’s at least plausible. 

But the even larger question is, how do I get a show like that? I’ve got to figure out what I can do to be able to travel around the world and be on television and make some money at it. I mean seriously. I’m good on television, I love to travel. Maybe not a ghost show, because there are a glut of those on the channels above 100, and I’m not as enthusiastic about getting dirty as Mike Rowe, but there has to be some kind of show that would allow me to travel the world on somebody else’s dime.

Shouldn’t there?

But the ghost thing still amazes me. It just seems like every cable channel has to have there ghost show. Is there that much interest in the afterlife? My sisters used to insist that the house we grew up in was haunted, but I never saw anything that would make me believe it. Even though some of the things are, at best, unexplainable, there’s never the full bodied apparition walking down the hall, caught on camera, with a big toothy grin. It wouldn’t necessarily take that to convince me, but they always hear stories about those kinds of things, but they never, ever show up. Just an occasional disembodied voice, human-looking shadow,closing door, and the ubiquitous footsteps.

But they are entertaining, and we keep watching because the woman in the white dress will eventually come walking down the hall, bigger than life, on the IR camera. It’s sort of like the aliens, I think they’re out there, but no one has been able to present the hard evidence. As for ghosts … I wouldn’t say no, and they make for some entertaining television.

Sig

–scene–

1 Comment

Filed under Paranormal, Reality TV, Television, Thoughts

One response to “Ghosts

  1. Pingback: I Love Being Validated, And Other Thoughts « Life's a Beach

Leave a Reply

