A Good Week

Here’s my definition of a good week. I got to spend time in a little airplane, and a little time on my boat. I really have no other way to describe it.

flying 2Regular readers will know about my trip to Savannah on Tuesday. We flew up in the Aero-News.net Cirrus SR-22 for the roll out of the new Gulfstream G650. While I didn’t actually get to fly, I got to ride up front, and that was good for a start. I am absolutely jonesing to be back in the left seat. The technology has come so far in the cockpit from when I last flew as pilot in command that I’ll have a lot to re-learn, but it does reduce the cockpit work load as well. And huge, awkward sectional chart s in the cockpit are, in some airplanes at least, a thing of the past. I remember folding huge sectional charts on which I’d drawn a line with a pencil and a parallel rule. With the flight directors available today, you tell the computer where you want to go, and it’s all right there.

But as often as I’ve flown in the back in Dumbo the Jumbo, there’s nothing quite like being up in the business end of the airplane, and I hope it was just the first time of many in the coming months.

As much fun as that was, that was business. I was amazed that I punched up the voice recorder on my iPhone pretty much in the back of the room during the news conference after the G650 rollout, and found it actually recorded the audio well enough that I got much better quotes for my news conference story listening back to the audio. Some of it was unintelligible, but for the most part, it worked great. More and more, this phone is becoming a business tool. So, flying was fun, but it was bookended by work.

New Name 11This afternoon, for the first time in 6 weeks, I got the boat off the rack and went for a ride on the Intercoastal Waterway. Just for grins. Busy and Tim came along, and we started for the ocean, but it became quickly obvious that it would be too choppy to head out to sea. So we came about and headed for the Intercoastal Waterway. The water was much smoother , and it was just a great ride. Nothing special or spectacular about it, but a great way to spend a lazy Sunday afternoon when the Jaguars were blacked out on TV. I turned on the radio in the boat, and listened to the game while cruising the ICW.

So we ju st rode, until we got down to the Beach Boulevard bridge. We’d just turned around and were going to head back to the marina when we came up on a fellow boater with the cover off his outboard motor, alone, no radio, not having a good day. We tossed him a line and towed him back to the boat ramp at Beach Boulevard. Pay it forward.

Boy Scout Good Deed For The Day done, we headed back to the marina and cleaned up the boat, and called it a day.

So, airplanes and boats, boats and airplanes. Two great things, from my perspective, and I was lucky enough to experience them both the same week. No matter how you slice it, that’s a good week.

Sig

–scene–

Leave a comment

Filed under Airplanes, Beach Living, Boating, Boats, Florida Living, Flying, Life

Leave a Reply

