Swordfish

I haven’t done this for a while, but for the first time in like forever, I felt creative about dinner for me. Sometimes, I just enjoy preparing something just for myself, and I’ve GOT to learn to start taking pictures of my food before enjoying it.

Now Saturday, I did a boneless turkey breast thing to take to Richard and Elaine Brown’s house for dinner. I marinated in coffee, cider vinegar, molasses, garlic, dry mustard, onion powder, and smoked paprika. Then I opened them up, stuffed them with a mixture of grated smoked gouda, parmesano reggiano, and more garlic, and roasted them on the grill with hickory chips, giving them a nice, smokey flavor. Served with a little chimichurri sauce, I think all but one little piece was eaten, and I did two of the turkey breasts.

But tonight, it was swordfish. I love swordfish, and Publix had it on sale. $6 for a perfect one-portion piece. Regular readers will know that Andie doesn’t like fish, but she was at PEO, so I had the kitchen to myself.

So, I dredged the fish in some Wondera Flour and Adobo, and pan-fried it in olive oil and butter. It came out a perfect crisp golden brown.

But that’s pretty boring, yes? So I put it on a bed of sautéed spinach and mushrooms with parmesan. Getting better, yes? But wait, there’s more. On top, I did a relish of fire roasted diced tomatoes, corn, onions, garlic, salt, pepper, and cayenne. Nice kick, and I ALMOST got too much cayenne … but somehow all the flavors just went together.

Have I mentioned recently that I love to cook? I haven’t done a lot of it recently, for any one of a number of reasons. It’s sometimes difficult to be creative cooking when you’re concerned about what every ingredient going into the dish costs. On the plus side, we’ve been throwing away a lot fewer leftovers … we’ve been using them. That’s probably smart no matter what the economy.

But regardless, it was good to know I could still do it, and have it come out as something that I’d order in a restaurant.

Now all I need are 30 or 40 more of those. I don’t know what I’d do with them, but they’d be fun to have.

Sig

–scene–

Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking, Food, Thoughts

Leave a Reply

