Best Ribs Ever

I haven’t blogged about food for a while. To be honest, I haven’t found the kind of joy in cooking that I had before I suddenly found myself temporarily, though involuntarily retired. But the last couple of nights, the grills’ been fired, and tonight I put together some baby back ribs that rivaled any I’ve had at any rib place ever, and I’ll share it with you, as a public service.

Food If you’re a new reader to the blog, let me just warn you that my favorite amount of nearly any ingredient is “some”.  You’ll just have to play with the amounts to make it work for you.

It started out with a dry rub.  Garlic salt, onion powder, chili powder, dried mustard powder, ground cumin seed, and smoked paprika went into a bowl, and combined with a whisk.  The rub went on a rack of baby back ribs, and it was all set aside while I built the fire.

I have a pretty large grill.  I built the fire, and yes it’s charcoal, on one side of the grill, and put a tray of hickory chunks on the coals. My grill has an adjustable charcoal tray, and I had it about midway down the grill. Smoke poured out of the grill. The ribs went on the “cool” side of the grill, close the lid, and let ‘em smoke, turning occasionally. They’ll want to smoke for at least an hour.

While the ribs were smoking, I made the sauce.  Again, all amounts are “some”.

Combine blackstrap molasses, apple cider vinegar, strong coffee, about 3 tablespoons of mild habanero sauce and a small can of tomato sauce, along with the remainder of the dry rub in a saucepan.  Place it over medium heat until it comes to a boil, then reduce the heat and let it simmer while the ribs cook.

The sauce was darned hot, but true aficionados know that you serve the sauce on the side for dipping anyway.  Let the ribs rest for 10 minutes before slicing and serving.  They came off the grill juicy, with a wonderful crust and more flavor than even I expected.The leftover sauce went into a squeeze bottle and is comfortably in the fridge.  It’d be great on chicken wings.

Give it a try.  I should have taken some pictures.  I know I’ll be making them again, so next time.

Sig

–scene–

Leave a comment

Filed under Beach Living, Cooking, Food, Recipies, Thoughts

Leave a Reply

