Learning to Work from Home

And it’s not as easy as you might think.

For the past three days, I’ve been drinking from the fire hose that is Aero-News.net.  You’d be amazed at how much aviation-related news there is to wade through.  News released, tips, re-writes, research.  It’s already an amazing education into an industry to which I used to pay a lot of attention.  But maybe the most difficult thing about this has been the entire concept of working from home.

It’s not as easy as you might think.

All my working life, I’ve been going someplace else to work.  A radio or television station, cable station, someplace.  I’ve usually had a desk or a cubicle, or more recently an office.  But every morning, I got up, sometimes incredibly early, and went someplace else to work.  Not anymore.

I’ve joined that cadre of people who get up, make a pot of coffee, hot up the bitgrinder, and start writing.  It requires discipline, and I’m one of those people who can be pretty easily be distracted.  So far, I’ve done pretty well.  I’ve gotten stuff cranked out, not in the volume that I’ll need to down the road, but I’ve gotten stuff cranked out.  But eventually, you’ve got to look up and treat it like work.  Today, I took an hour out to hit the bike.  Sometime tomorrow, I’ve got to get the lawn mowed, because it’s not going to wait until the weekend.  The good news is, I’ll be here to do it.  But I also have to remember that this is work and I have to treat it as such.

Then, too, I have a whole new writing style to learn, I’m feeling like  rookie again.  And that’s an odd place for me to be.  They want some personality in the writing, and that’s the very antithesis of 99% of the writing I’ve done for the past 15 years.  A little of me found it’s way into some of the television stuff, but not a lot.  Straight ahead, factual writing has been how I’ve made my living.  This is going to be very, very different.

So it’s a steep learning curve.  The discipline of working at home, and the changes in writing style.  In the end, it should make me a better writer, but for now, I’ve got to get myself past feeling like I’ve never really done this before.

And then I get to learn about paying quarterly taxes.  Oh the joy …

Sig

–scene–

1 Comment

Filed under Beach, Beach Living, Thoughts, Working at Home, Writing

One response to “Learning to Work from Home

  1. Janice Dunsford Crago

    I’ve been working from home for the past 15 yrs. or so. It’s amazing how enticing a load of laundry or the dust bunnies under the bed can be when you’re at a loss for words. Lots of excuses to not do what you need to. I’ve been employing the 50 minute rule lately. It’s so obvious it’s stupid but for me it works. Set a timer for 50 minutes and focus on the task at hand. No FB, Twitter, clipping nails, checking email. @ 50 minutes, take a break. I’ve found that it’s often enough to prime my pump and I usually keep going.
    Say hey to your madre!

Leave a Reply

