Searching for Inspiration

Sunday morning at the Continents’ Edge.  I have  yet to download my Sunday crossword from The Washington Post, but that literally takes seconds.  Meanwhile, I find myself singularly uninspired staring at the blank computer screen, with the self-imposed pressure of generating fresh content most every day for those of you who have chosen to follow “Life’s a Beach”.

Thank you, by the way, to the 19 of my Facebook friends who have accepted that invitation.

Perhaps its the 7 days of rain that has chased my muse from the beach.  Today, the sky is a little lighter, and it’s not pouring for hours on end, but there is still that threat of bad weather hanging like a pall over the ocean.  I did manage to get out to the grill and cook a nice steak for dinner last night, but it was the first time I’d have tried to light a fire in the backyard in a week.  Speaking of which, I stocked up on charcoal yesterday.  The last time I bough charcoal, a 20 pound bag was 10 bucks, so when I saw it at Publix for $3 off just in time for Memorial Day, I grabbed a bag.  I was planning to go back and get a couple more, when I saw a Home Depot ad featuring Kingsford double packs … over 40 pounds of pre-burnt wood for under $9.00.  I now have nearly 100 pounds of charcoal at the house.  Let the grilling begin.

But I digress …

7 months of unemployment have made me acutely aware of those kinds of deals.  I normally would have gone to HD for the sale, but might have grabbed only one pair instead of two.  Store brands, BOGO, and the like have become very important in the past half year.  You never really know how unlimited your resources can be until they’re severely limited.  But we’re still getting by.

Some of that begins to turn around tomorrow, when I start learning the ropes at Aero-News.net.  But we’re not out of the woods by 10 thousand rows of big green apple trees.

(I read that line in a book when I was probably 15, and it’s stuck with me.  What was the line from “Son of a Sailor”?  “I’ve read dozens of books, about heroes and crooks, and I’ve learned much from both of their styles”.)

I’ve had a couple of things floated by me this past week that are very intriguing, and that a year ago I would not have even considered.  Nothing that I’m willing to divulge at the moment, because that would certainly overplay my hand, and anyone who’s every played poker with me knows I don’t bluff well.  If I’m in, I’m all in, and if I’m not, I don’t fake it well, improviser in me not withstanding.  The good news is I do have options, and I just have to decide how to best make a living at one or more of them.  Somehow it’s going to include writing and the media, but may not be limited to that.  It’s what I know, and I’m told I’m pretty good at it …

Speaking of writing … “Life’s a Beach” is approaching its second birthday.  The first post was two days after my 49th birthday … August 15th, 2007.  I’d been blogging through Mindspring, my ISP, for a while, but for some reason that just stopped working, and I switched over to WordPress.  I’ve found this to be an easy place to host my blog, and 591 posts later, it’s become something of a habit.  The great writers say you should write something every day, and I’ve managed to generate a lot of content here.  I’m sure a lot of it has been pretty boring to most of you, but every now and then, I’ll have a post that strikes a chord.  It’s amazing what posts seem to get the most attention, and apparently show up on Google searches.  I wrote a post a while back called “Stealth Boat and Summer Travel Roulette”, which included some cool pictures of a Navy SEAL transport that found its self tied up at Jacksonville Marina for a few weeks waiting for repairs.  It seems like every few days I there are 4 or 5 more views of that post … probably because someone has searched the term “Stealth Boat”.  What I often wonder, though, is how long people actually stay on the site.  Sitemeter, which is where I get my most accurate stats, has no way to keep track of the time someone spends reading a page … unless they click through to another page.  So if someone spends 15 or 20 minutes reading every post on the “front” page, I have no way to know that.

Not that it matters, I suppose.

I’m also fascinated by the number of visitors I have from around the world.  My furthest-away visitor the past couple of days has been from Japan … and I regularly see Great Britain, the middle east, Germany, Canada, and Australia.  I often wonder how they find me.  Blog readers should send the electronic equivalent of CQL cards like shortwave listeners used to do.  Just drop me a note in the comments if you’re visiting from far away.  I’d love to know how you found me.

That goes for everyone, of course.

So there are a bunch of random thoughts for a Sunday morning.  I haven’t picked up a newspaper yet, but that’s become more of a late Sunday afternoon habit.  We’re off to brunch in a bit, and from there … we’ll just have to see.  And in the meantime, perhaps the muse will find her way back to the beach.

I need some inspiration.

Sig

–scene–

Leave a comment

Filed under Beach Living, Random Stuff, Random Thoughts, Thoughts

Leave a Reply

