American Idle and Other Thoughts

And no, that’s not a typo.

I’ll say at the beginning that I don’t watch American Idol.  I’ve just never gotten into it.  I know about it, of course, and because you can’t NOT be exposed to all the “news” that is attached to the show, I kinda know what went on last night.  But for what ever reason, I can’t for the life of me understand why it’s such a big deal.

“Idol” is like an election, but without the consequences.  Through the course of the show, each “candidate” tries to convince the people watching that they should win the election.  It’s like debates, with singing.  As with primaries … the field is winnowed down to two.  Some may think they’re the best candidates, some may disagree, but it’s what you’re left to vote on, and so that’s what you do.

At the end of the day, it’s not necessarily the candidate who is best qualified, or has the best plan, or the best singing voice, who wins.  It’s the one who gets the most votes.  That’s what happened this week on “American Idol”.

I’ve been seeing headlines of “Did America Get it Wrong”.  C’mon, Man … it’s American Idol.  There is no “right” or “wrong”.  It’s just singing.  Like any of the “reality” shows where there is a winner and a dozen or so losers.  It’s nothing to get exercised about.

But instead, there has to be much wailing and gnashing of teeth because the person who some thought had the most talent didn’t win.  Opinions are like armpits …

Then, too, there’s the possibility that with telephone and cell phone voting that SOMEBODY’s gaming the system.  It’s almost the American way.

But the bottom line is, it really doesn’t matter who won American Idol.  Both will likely have flash-in-the-pan careers, thought it’s possible there’s some longevity to an Idol winner.  I just don’t understand all the sturm und drang when something like this happens.  It’s just a TV show.  Not like a presidential election or something.  That’s when it REALLY matters if America makes the wrong choice …

-0-

I had one of those odd things happen to me today.  Someone in the grocery store recognized me from writing this blog.  She commented on my post a while back “You Can’t Change the Wind”.  Seems they’ve gone through a job loss as well, and they’re actually going sailing in the interim, so my analogy apparently struck a chord.  Good for you.  I wish you fair winds and following seas.

I don’t blog anonymously.  It’s my blog and my name and my picture and my resume and my demo reel all there for all to see.  And I was used to being approached in the grocery store or Lowes or Walgreens or on vacation (OK, that one was really weird) from my work on Television.  But not from the blog.  That was a first for me.

I get very  few comments from my writing, even when I think I’ve written just a killer good piece.  Usually … crickets.  Once in a while, I’ll get a comment.  It was fun to hear from a guy that was considering buying one of my old boats in Maryland that had been sitting on jackstands for years.  He sent me some pictures of the boat.  It was pretty cool.

But it was completely unexpected to have someone stop me in the grocery store and say “I read your blog”.  I know there are people locally who read it, and I’m grateful to have them along.  It was just, I don’t know, unexpected.  At least something I’d written had had a positive influence on their lives, which I find gratifying, and it wasn’t “I followed your advice and my life is ruined”.  Just for the record, I’m not going to be culpable for that.  Nobody’s in control of your life but you.

So, if you’re reading along, feel free to leave a comment.

-0-

The storm that has brought us 4 days of persistent rain finally seems to have rained its self out.  There are still a few showers lingering offshore, and they’re moving this way, but it’s been dryer all day, and the showers have been more sprinkles than the soaking rains we’ve had since Monday afternoon.  I was sitting at the Beaches Business Association meeting at the Jacksonville Beach Municipal Golf Course at lunch Monday.  It was pouring rain, blowing like a tropical storm, and the big, high volume irrigation system was running.

There is still a 70 percent chance of rain tomorrow, according to the NWS.  They may revise that forecast overnight, and I hope so.  I’m ready for some sunshine, and so is just about everyone else around here.  Tonight, for the first time this week, the chorus outside is the frogs in the moat behind the house, and not the roar of heavy rain on the patio roof.  It’s a pleasure to leave the door open again, and there haven’t been too many way-too-loud car stereos driving by on Florida Boulevard.  Hopefully the weather will cooperate for the Jazz Festival this weekend.  I’m not planning to be downtown, but it’s a good thing for the city, and too often weather has been a huge problem for the event.  I’m ready for summer to come back to the beach.  The good news is, the car is in the garage, and the top will be dry when I go to put it down again … which I’ll do at my first opportunity.

-0-

So that’s that.  Nothing earth-shattering or deep or issues-driven.  As I’ve written before … life moves just a little slower here on the continents edge.  I like it that way.  But I do wish people would stop honking their horns as they come around Florida Boulevard behind our house.

But that’s another post.

Sig

–scene–

Leave a comment

Filed under Life, Random Stuff, Random Thoughts, Thoughts, Weather

Leave a Reply

