HP Frustrations

I’ve spent a very frustrating day trying to convince my laptop that it has a webcam.  I’m not a big cam guy, but I’ll need it for video conferencing for my Aero News gig.  I have Service Pack 1 installed, I downloaded the latest BIOS and flashed the system (don’t go there), and ran the driver installation from HP.

Nothing.  The webcam doesn’t even show up in Device Manager.  It’s like it just doesn’t exist.

Of course, I called HP tech support, but since I’m “305 days out of warranty”, they would be more than happy to set up an account for me to pay for tech support.  Uh Huh.  We’re a no-income household for at least another couple of weeks, and maybe a touch more.  And then I don’t have the kind of dough to throw around for live tech support.  I was told I could use the online chat tech support, which is kludgey as well.  I had to go back to Internet Explorer (I’ve become a Firefox guy) and tell it to allow pop-ups, and it still wouldn’t connect to a technician.  So I don’t know what I’m going to do.

I suppose I can buy a vista-compatible USB webcam, and that might be the best bet.  But I’m a little … no make that a lot … frustrated that HP doesn’t have any more faith in it’s products that it will only support them for a  year after purchase.  I don’t know about you, but I can’t afford to buy a new computer every year, and won’t be purchasing a new one just because the webcam took a dump.  I’m hoping at some point I can get through to tech support and try to figure out what’s going on, but I’ve tried everything that’s been suggested in all the online reading I did today, so I don’t know what else they’re going to tell me.

So that’s been my day.  Fighting with a computer again.  So now it’s late, and I’m tired and cranky, and this will be a short post.  So I’ll point  you to my article from Sunday’s “Jacksonville Observer”, of which I’m pretty proud.

Enjoy.

Sig

–scene–

Leave a comment

Filed under Customer Service, Technical Support, Thoughts

Leave a Reply

