What to Blog

What to blog when you’re getting home late, might have had a glass of wine, and got up early for a Chamber of Commerce event?  Well, let’s check the “To Blog” file in my bookmarks.

This caught my eye yesterday from The Wall Street Journal.  Some colleges are better at sending out rejection letters than others.

Toughest: Bates College, Lewiston, Maine. “The deans were obliged to select from among candidates who clearly could do sound work at Bates,” the letter says.

Stanford University sends a steely “don’t call us” message embedded in its otherwise gentle rejection letter. In addition to asserting that “we are humbled by your talents and achievements” and assuring the applicant that he or she is “a fine student,” the letter says, “we are not able to consider appeals.”

Kindest: Harvard College.  “Past experience suggests that the particular college a student attends is far less important than what the student does to develop his or her strengths and talents over the next four years.”

Duke University, Durham N.C. “I know you will find an institution at which you will be happy; I know, too, that the school you choose will benefit from your presence.”

IU I will say that I’m glad I’m got applying to college today.  What I remember about the college admission process was that I filled out a  form and got a letter of acceptance.  I only applied to Indiana University, 20 miles north of the little town where I grew up, and was accepted.  It probably didn’t hurt that both my parents, my maternal grandmother, and my uncle Tom had all gone to IU.   I got a decent education, got OK grades, finished in 4 years, walked out of college into a job in my major field a week later, and worked at it for 28 years until last October.

Getting into college has changed.

-0-

As we try to eat more healthy, there was this a couple of days ago from smartmoney.com:

“…how much food are you really getting for your money? SmartMoney.com sought to find out which menu items are the costliest and cheapest per calorie. The results may surprise you. Looking at the cost per 100 calories of some items underscores what nutritionists have been saying for years: The cheapest calories typically aren’t the healthiest.”

1. Premium Southwest Salad With Grilled Chicken

McDonald’s
Cost per 100 calories: $1.47
Calories: 360
Calories from fat: 29%

(snip)

14. Cheeseburger Slyder

White Castle
Cost per 100 calories: 41 cents
Calories: 170
Calories from fat: 47%

So, the McDonalds salad cost the most per calorie, but is the lowest in fat.  White Castle is nearly half fat, but cheap.  I can’t say that I’ve been in either of these places in a long, long time.

-0-

And then this from Yahoo Autos about “features” that are disappearing from cars …

No. 10: Six-passenger, rear-wheel-drive, body-on-frame cars

This used to be the way all cars were made: You built a frame, attached the engine and transmission, slapped on the body and off you went.

No. 5: Cars priced less than $13,000

No. 2: Cassette-tape decks

Yes, you can still find them. Many European carmakers still insist on them, and some people have stuff on tape they can’t transfer to a CD for whatever reason.

No. 1: Crank windows

These can still be found in entry-level vehicles, but as soon as you step up from the least-expensive vehicle in an automaker’s lineup, they disappear.

Nope, my car doesn’t have any of those.  Though since it’s an ’04, it DID have a cassette deck factory installed.  I’ve replaced it with an in-dash HD radio with an input for my MP3 player.   I do remember installing a cassette deck with 5 band EQ and Jensen tri-ax speakers in my VW van back in the late 70’s.  My how things have changed.

And OK, I kind of phoned it in tonight.  But sometimes the phone is a good thing.

Just not a video phone, but that’s another post.

Sig

–scene–

Leave a comment

Filed under Blogging, Cars, College, Food, Thoughts

Leave a Reply

