Another Saturday Night

How did we get here.  It’s Saturday night … and we’re at home watching food network on the DVR.

I was never a big party person, I guess.  I don’t know why.  There were the obligatory college parties, but I also worked a lot of weekends while I was in college.  I suppose if I count the part time years, it was a 32  year broadcasting career that ended when WJCT let me go.

I spent  the day putting as many of the pieces of drywall back up at the Aquatic Gardens house as I could … the ones where there was an actual stud to which to screw the drywall.  Some of the holes the plumbers cut don’t have any support behind the cutouts, and I don’t know how I’m going to repair those.  We’ll come up with something or find someone who’ll do it for free.  It’s all got to be free at this point.  We’re flat out of money, and Christmas is just around the corner.

I have done so much gripping and grinning the past couple of months … I’m surprised it took me this long to start fighting a cold.  I woke up the other day with a scratchy throat, and it’s still pretty raspy.  The cough is getting a bit productive as well.  I guess if there’s good news, it’s that I should be over this by the time Jenni gets here for a week.  I hate having a cold, and this will be my second one this year already.  I managed to use 8 of the more than 500 hours of sick leave I’d accrued before they let me go, too.

So, here we are, two weeks from Christmas, at home on a Saturday night.  We haven’t been invited to a single Holiday party this year, and I’m not so sure people are having them like they did in years past.  It’s just too expensive to throw a big party, and I’m sure that people would rather buy gifts for people than throw a big party.  Still, I’m looking forward to the traditional Enchilada Eve … on the 24th as usual.  Nothing says Christmas Eve like a big pan of enchiladas.  It’s a tradition … just roll with it.

So, it’s just another Saturday night.  I used to go out and hear a band and have a scotch, but marriage will put a stop to that in a hurry. And most of the bands aren’t that great anyway.  Some are pretty OK, and the Druids are playing a bunch of places here at the beach this month.  We’ll have to go out and see them one of these days as well.

–scene–

Leave a comment

Filed under Beach Living, Thoughts

Leave a Reply

