Beware The Icicle Lights

I don’t know why it is that icicle lights seem to only last a season.  I unceremoniously dumped three strands in the trash today because they have a section out … and I don’t have the patience to sit and replace every bulb until they come back on.  The light bulb tester costs as much as a new strand of lights, and

hopefully by next year we’ll be able to replace most of them with LED lights anyway.  I know I’m tired of tiny incandescent bulbs.

Putting the lights up wouldn’t be such a hassle if it weren’t for their penchant for having dead zones.  At least this year I managed to not scratch my eye with an oleander leaf.  It was about this time last year that I was seeing an eye doctor and taking steroids to try to repair my eye.  It never has fully recovered.

So the tree is in its appointed corner, though not fully decorated.  The outside is just about finished, even to the silly parachuting Santa that Andie insists on hanging out front.  I’m not thrilled about it, but I’m not going to make a huge deal out of it.

I wish I felt more Chrismassy.  Maybe if I wasn’t so concerned about what’s going to happen after the holidays I’d be more in the Christmas spirit.  I’m still somewhat hopeful that I’ll have this job thing resolved before Christmas rolls around, and I can enjoy Jen’s visit knowing I’ll be going back to work in early January … but we can wish all we want.  I’ll get a few more things in the mail next week.

I was kinda honked at CVS about printing my head shots.  Apparently I need a copyright release from the photographer in order to have prints made of a digital photograph of me.  I’m not sure exactly how that all works, but maybe I’ll try the Walgreens tomorrow.

In the meantime, there are Christmas cards to be written, gifts to be bought and wrapped, Christmas dinner to be planned … and I’ve got to admit, I’m not much in the mood for any of it.

Maybe next year.

–scene–

Leave a comment

Filed under Thoughts

Leave a Reply

