Artwalk

15 minutes to post.  Nothing like a deadline.

I crossed the ditch (gasp) and went down to Artwalk tonight.  Artwalk is the brainchild of Downtown Development, and many of the downtown businesses stay open and turn themselves into impromptu art galleries for local artists.  There were many tents and vendors set up on Hemming Plaza by City Hall as well.  And for the first time in about a month and a half, I took along the mighty Nikon.

Hemming Plaza Art Walk I walked first down to Hemming Plaza, where Santa was holding court and having his picture taken with the kids.  There was a decent line for photos, and in fact a lot of people in downtown for the party.  It’s a monthly event, and seems to have been growing in popularity for the past couple of years.  Hemming Plaza was not jammed, but comfortably crowded with something other than homeless people.  Many artisans selling beaded jewelry, knitted items, carvings, photographs, and paintings. Guitar Guy

There were the usual compliment of street musicians of varying levels of skill.  This particular guitar guy’s harmonica wasn’t actually in the same key in which he was playing … but he was out there and enthusiastic.  Still, I’m not convinced there’s a record deal in his future.  But then again, there’s not in mine, either.

Christmas Band More traditional was this wind ensemble playing your favorite Christmas tunes.  Of course, across the street was one of Jacksonville’s bad sax guys, which might have made things a bit more difficult for the band.  Nothing like a poorly-played cover of “The Theme from Sanford and Son” competing with “Oh Little Town of Bethlehem”.  That’s the Christmas spirit.   They persevered, and seemed to be enjoying themselves in the chilly, north Florida air, and they definitely added to the ambience of the evening.

Bowling Bug

I think my favorite piece of art of the evening were the three bowling balls painted to look like ladybugs.  I like art that requires an artist to look at something ordinary and see something else.  Sort of like playing “Object Freeze” in improv.  Some of the abstract painting is simply not to my taste.  I know a lot of people like it, particularly the 20 and 30 somethings that seem to be the primary audience for Artwalk.  But it’s not my thing.  I like art I can recognize.  That’s just me.

Later, I met Andie at a party at Bailey Publishing, and then we went over to RCBC for dinner with Dick and Elaine Brown, as well as a few others.  A nice evening all the way around, and I put the camera back to work.  I don’t know if I’ve found my muse again just yet, but at least it was nice to grab a few snapshots.  Check it out on Flickr.

In other news, I fished a new phone line into the office / den / BR3 at the Aquatic Gardens house today.   Of course, there being big chunks of drywall missing due to the re-piping we had done made the job a whole lot easier.

And, I’m back at Improv after the first of the year.  Jesse (was Cohen, but now …) Jessica, Jeff Kalish, Don G, and I will be back at The Comedy Zone for a bi-weekly run.  Standup and then Improv.  Tuesday nights.  I hope I’ll see some of you local readers there.

Tomorrow (OK, technically now today), another meeting.  Might be something good, but no way to know until it happens.  Wish me luck …

–scene–

Leave a comment

Filed under Art, Art Walk, Jacksonville, Job Search, Photography, Thoughts

Leave a Reply

