Final Turkey Update

Ok … so I dropped the liveblog when it came time to take the bird of the smoker.  Things just started moving pretty quickly after that, and we needed to get to my sisters’ house, where the bird was the main attraction.  So, suffice it to say that it was yummy, thought a little drier than I would have really preferred, and it was well consumed.  The challah was also, as usual, a big hit.

It was nice to get together, as always.  Andie was pretty much done before we ever left the house, and Busy practically passed out on her sofa shortly after dinner … so we didn’t spend much time visiting.

Mom had some old home movies copied to DVD’s, which I got to look at here before we took them to her.  It was interesting to see some of the places we’d been on family vacations.  Yellowstone, The Grand Tetons, Mount Rushmore, Devils’ Tower.  Some were of mom and her sister in Minnesota in the summer time.  Interesting stuff.  It’ll be fun to watch it with her and see what she has to say about them.

So for today, Andie’s gone back to Shands to be with her mom for a bit, and then try to do some shopping.  I don’t want to be near any store for anything today, so I went for a ride instead.  And, I managed to get 16.5 miles in before I had a flat.  The good news is, I was less than 2 miles from home at that point, so I just walked.  Tomorrow, I’ll hit the bike shop for more inner tubes, and I really need new tires as well.  I’ve repaired the back one a couple of times, and I noticed a nick in the front tire today.  The tread is starting to separate just a bit, and that’s probably a sign I need a new one.  Damn thing was $50, and I’ll bet I don’t have 500 miles on it.

Of course, I have no way of knowing how long a fancy-schmancy tire like that is SUPPOSED to last.

As we move into December, I’m going to start applying places.  It’s time to stop researching and start getting a gig.  I have a few leads to follow up on, and after that, just keep on keepin’ on.

–scene–

Leave a comment

Filed under Beach Living, Cycling, Thanksgiving, Thoughts

Leave a Reply

