Thanksgiving

I know … there are probably literally millions of thanksgiving posts being written in the blogosphere tonight.  But there’s no reason for me to not add my voice to the mix.

The turkey is in the garage fridge brining.  Brining is a process that allows water, and some flavor, to move into the meat through the process of osmosis.  The meat is soaked in a solution of salt water and vinegar, along with some other spices.  I’ll let it brine all night, and then put it on the smoker in the morning.  Before I go to bed, I’ll get some hickory chunks into some water so they’ll smolder rather than burn in the smoker tomorrow.

I think I prefer a smoked turkey over any other method of preparation.  With so many other people looking for the fastest way to cook their turkey tomorrow … ie frying … I’m choosing the slowest.  The turkey will cook all day at 200-250 degrees, and come out a deep mahogany, with a thin pink smoke ring all around.  And the flavor will be wonderful.

So, it’s 50 degrees, there’s a fire in the fireplace, and I’m honestly optimistic about 2009.  I know we’re in a bit of a down cycle right now, with so many things seeming to work against us.  But I’ve had some encouraging things happen in the past few days, and Andie’s mom seems to be doing a little better.  I’m not sure how much better her prognosis is, but it doesn’t seem as dire as it was.  We’ll see what the next few days brings, but she’s not going to be able to be out of the hospital for Thanksgiving.

I think as much as anything, I have to not be afraid to fail.  No matter what I wind up doing in 2009, it’s likely to be different from what I was doing before.  I’m going to have a lot to learn.  And, as I’ve said to so many people I’ve talked with over the past few weeks, I hope to be able to make a difference.

So, on this Thanksgiving eve, I feel like I have a lot to be thankful for.  The great house near the beach, family nearby, good friends, and wonderful opportunities.  While no one wants to lose their job, the number of people who have rallied to my support has been amazing.   So to everyone who has, or who has offered to, help me in any way … thank you very much.

Tomorrow is for cooking and eating.  I’ll be happy to be doing both.

I’m not a fan of shopping on ‘Black Friday” and we’ll see how “Black” it really is.  I hope it doesn’t turn out to be red instead.

–scene–

Leave a comment

Filed under Thanksgiving, Thoughts

Leave a Reply

