Fun with iPhone

Well, it’s been more than just a phone, and I still don’t know how to make it connect to the Bluetooth when someone calls me.  Sometimes it works, sometimes Not So Much.  I love having my calendar in my hands.  Rather than jotting down illegible notes, I typed out names in the notepad.  Nicely productive so far.

But I also used it yesterday to level a shelf.  Download the “Level” app from the app store.  It’s free.  Going to an appointment this afternoon, I had it draw directions and show me the way.  And since it’s on Google Maps, it’s more up-to-date than my GPS.  Problem is, the map doesn’t scroll.  You have to keep up with it, and that’s a distraction while driving.

And today, I had it record my bike ride.  This is a cool little free app from “MapMyRide.com”.  It tracks your bike rides, keeps the time, calculates calories, all online.

iMapMyRide Nov 24, 2008 11:29 AM
Find more Bike Rides in Neptune Beach, Florida

Update:  Rats, I thought you’d be able to see the map.

So this was my ride from today.  18.5 miles, which is about standard for me.  I need to do a lot more of these.  I was getting heavy again before I lost my job, and after the time change made it start getting dark so early, a run a bad weather that kept me off the bike, and general low give-a-damn, I’m way heavier than I want to be.  So, I’ll be trying hard to ride way more often, and trying hard to eat less as well …. but I digress.

This is very cool for me, because I love to keep track of where I ride, how far, how many calories, etc.  This is on an actual Google Map, which shows me the actual streets on which I ride.  The ONLY problem is, and it’s a big one, that I rode for a little over an hour and used 80% of the battery in the iPhone.  That makes things problematic.  I wonder if there’s one of those little plug-in things for outboard power.

So, we’re having fun with the phone.  I have only one appointment tomorrow, and then a physical exam.  Wednesday right now is wide open.  I need to get a couple of things scheduled for then.  It’s time to stop learning and start pitching.

–scene–

Leave a comment

Filed under Cycling, Exercise, iPhone, Thoughts, Weight Management

Leave a Reply

