Getting Better

The uvula issue is finally abating.  It feels almost normal again, but my throat’s a little sore.  I always worry that something like that is going to be permanent.  I don’t know why.  Just a little unjustified paranoia.  Since I’m still hoping to make a living at least in part with my voice, I am a little protective of it.  It’s one of the reasons I quit smoking all those years ago.  My voice has been my life, and I need to keep it that way.

I’m doing a little volunteering with JCCI while I have some time.  It’s something I should have gotten involved in long ago.  It’s fulfilling and allows me to get some of that feeling of making a difference again.

That’s one of the things I truly miss about Week in Review and First Coast Forum.  I always loved leaving the studio feeling like we’d made a difference with the shows we did.  If it felt like the audience came away knowing more about the subject for what we’d done, it was a great feeling.  I always felt so privileged to sit at a table with so many knowledgeable people, and I really had to do my homework to keep up and ask the right questions.  So I’m hoping that what comes next will, at least occasionally, give me that feeling again.  And that I can make some money at it.

And with that, I’ve started writing way too late again.  I need to get some sleep and hit it again tomorrow.  Just one appointment in the afternoon, so it’ll be phone calls all morning.

–scene–

1 Comment

Filed under Job Search, Medical, Thoughts, Uvula

One response to “Getting Better

  1. Michelle

    And we are happy to have you!!!

Leave a Reply

