Tom the Plumber?

Well, sorta.  Ever replace a toilet?  That was my project today over at Andie’s townhouse.  I’ve done this just once before, and I hope I’ve done it correctly this time.  A toilet on the 2nd floor really, really needs not to leak.

I thought it was going to be a simple project, and for the most part it was.  Some of the old linoleum came up when I pulled up the old toilet bowl, but we’ll likely wind up replacing that linoleum anyway.  But as is always the case with such things, I ran into an issue too late to finish tonight.  The old toilet was a “standard height” and the new one is what’s called ‘comfort height”.  Just slightly taller, which I suppose is more comfortable.  Of course, no one wants to spend so much time on that seat to worry too much about comfort .. but it was only a dollar more.

Anyway … because the tank was a couple of inches higher off the floor, the water supply line was too short.  And it’s about 8 minutes before 9:00.  Ace hardware closed at 8:00.  I dashed up to K-Mart, where I was informed that “we’re closing in 3 minutes..” and they were obviously not interested in my business.  Lowes and Home Depot were also both closed … so we’ll finish the toilet tomorrow.

I also hung 5 bifold doors in the laundry, the pantry, the furnace, and a storage closet.

Along with finishing the toilet tomorrow, I’ll finish up the electrical outlets and switches.  A weekend of handyman projects.  I don’t plan to buy a plumbing business, or make a quarter-million dollars doing it.

-0-

Meanwhile, the seasons’ second cold snap has moved in this afternoon.  It rained off and on all day, and the temperature is now falling like a stone.  Down to 58 degrees so far.

For the next 3 months, November, December, January … we’ll have these cold fronts move through.  This part of Florida seems to take it’s winter in chunks.  We’ll have a week or so of chilly weather … with temperatures in the low 40’s to high 30’s at night … and an occasional dip down below freezing.  But then it’ll warm back up into the 60’s and 70’s … very pleasant.  But  for the next several days, it’ll be chilly enough for a fire in the fireplace at night, but not uncomfortable during the day.  Not such a bad way to spend the winter.

–scene–

Leave a comment

Filed under Handyman, Plumbing, Weather

Leave a Reply

