Long Day at the Search

Meetings, meetings, meetings.  I literally drove all over town today meeting with people.  Which is OK.  It’s how it’s done.

I started the day on San Jose Boulevard, lunched at Sawgrass Beach Club, and capped the day over on Atlantic Boulevard near downtown.  But it felt productive.

Tomorrow is as clear as today was busy.  I imagine I’ll wind up working over at the townhouse again, but I’ll spend some time on the phone following up on leads I’ve gathered this week.  Some seem promising.  I know that what ever it is I wind up doing, I want to be able to make a difference in some way.  I always loved hosting a program that brought insight to an issue, and it’s my hope that I’ll wind up doing something in which I can continue to do that … and still pay the bills.

And that’s the bottom line, isn’t it.

I was in a discussion today with someone about journalism and impartiality.  It was a little disquieting to me that this person felt like opinion was a part of journalism.  They were convinced that no journalist covers a story that they don’t allow their bias to show.  I guess that is consistent with the Rassmussen poll that indicated a majority of people thought reporters wrote more favorable stories about the candidate they hoped would win.  Whether or not that’s true, it’s the perception.  It’s not the kind of journalism I’ve tried to practice.

They (and I’m studiously avoiding even a hit of who I might have been talking to) asked if journalists don’t use specific language to try to influence how people feel about the story.  I maintained “not the good ones”.  The root word of “Journalist” is “journal”.  Seems to me that means  you record what you see first hand, or can learn from informed and reputable sources, and don’t just take anything at face value.  And, should they allow some of their personal bias seep in to the story … well … a good editor will correct that.

But the unfortunate realization that came from the conversation is that the person I was talking with … an intelligent, professional person, didn’t draw a lot of distinction between journalism and opinion.  When that line is blurred, people start to lose faith in what they read, hear and see.

And to be honest, there’s a case to be made that there’s not a lot left to be lost.

–scene–

Leave a comment

Filed under Job Search, Journalism, Thoughts

Leave a Reply

