Handyman

Today, I was an electrician.  OK, that might be a bit much, but I spent most of the afternoon switching old, dirty, tar-stained electrical outlets and light switches for nice, new, shiny white ones at Andie’s mom’s townhouse.  All of the duct grates needed to be replaced as well.  I hope she has a chance to see it,  She went back to the emergency room tonight.

As is always the case with such projects, it required a trip to Lowes.  It seems like you never buy the right thing the first time, but the good news is, I didn’t buy it.  I did buy the second round.

The only thing that proved problematic was the gang switch that controls the light over the sink and the disposall.  I got distracted in the middle of replacing it, and then had to go buy a different switch, and that meant I wired it incorrectly the first 7 or 8 times I tried to put it together.  One switch was completely inoperative … the other turned on both the light and the disposall.  No matter how I swapped wires around, I got the same result.  I’d gotten frustrated, convinced that I was going to have to call Tim to make it right.

Well, after letting it rest for an hour or so, as we bundled Linda up for a trip to Shands, I looked at it again, and thought “maybe it’s backward from the other one”.  I flipped the switch over, hooked up the wires, and it worked.

Small victories.  That made me feel good.  I’d have felt really, really dumb if Tim had come over, looked at it, and flipped it over and it worked.  I felt stupid enough as it was, but at least I figured it out.

See, add “Problem Solver” to the resume.

Earlier, I had to change the battery in the Explorer.  I don’t drive it enough, and I’d let the battery run completely down one too many times.  Even Mike’s uber-charger wouldn’t put a charge on it.  So, I was on my way to WalMart to buy a new battery, and thought “there’s an AutoZone right around the corner, why am I schlepping all the way to WalMart?”  So, I turned around, and plunked the battery up on the counter at AutoZone.

Seems I’d bought it there initially … back in 2005.   And there was a warranty.  Long story only slightly less long, the new battery only cost me $29.  And the truck started right up after I installed it.  AND I got the battery recycled.  All good things. This time, I wrote “AutoZone” on the battery, and the date, so I won’t start out for WalMart next time.

And while I’m generating random thoughts, I have a bit of a gripe with US Airways.  I booked Jen’s ticket to come at Christmas today, but had to do it twice.  After being told “hour credit card is about to be charged”, I didn’t decline THEIR credit card.  I thought I was done, but had to go back and do the whole thing again.  And, of course, you had to LOOK for the “decline” button.  The “Apply” button was nice and bold.  “Decline” was gray and not obvious.  Sneaky there, US Airways.

Tomorrow, meetings all day.  To San Jose, then back to the beach, then back to Regency.  I’ll be adding some miles to the car tomorrow.

Note to Dave Letterman … I know it’s difficult to write jokes about Barack Obama … but the McCain and Palin jokes just seem to fall flat these days.  It worked.  You got the President you wanted.  No need to rub their noses in it.  Try writing an Obama joke.  I promise you won’t be racist if you do.

–scene–

Leave a comment

Filed under Comedy, Handyman, Politics, Projects, Thoughts

Leave a Reply

