Election Eve

And so it comes down to this.  In about 24 hours, we’ll either have a good idea as to who will be the next POTUS, or know that it’s going to be a long, long night.  I may not even watch.

For the first time in a long time, I won’t be in some kind of broadcast facility for election night.  And since I voted two weeks ago, I just can’t get jazzed about it tomorrow.  It’s pretty much a foregone conclusion as to who is going to win, though as John McCain said on Monday Night Football a few moments ago, “That’s why they play the games”.  And he’s right.

Instead, Scott Abrams is back in town to conduct a workshop with John Bryan, and he’ll be crashing at our house tomorrow.  I do have an early meeting at JCCI Wednesday morning, but we’ll be able to have him up and out of here by then.

If I have to be out of a job, and I guess I do, it’s helping in that I’ve got some time to spend over at the Aquatic Garden house, trying to get it ready for Andie’s mom to move back in.  I’m not convinced she ever will, but we’re working towards that end none the less.  There remains a ton to be done, and if she’s going to move back in, only a short time to do it.  At least after tomorrow’s Dr. appointment, she’ll have an appointment with an Oncologist who may be able to give us a better idea of what we’re dealing with.

So, I’ve got a lot on my mind this election eve.  A lot more than who’ll be the next occupant of the White House.  Personal events have served to focus my attention on a lot more than national politics.  As much as I love watching the process, and I think it really matters who wins, my mind is elsewhere.  Actually a lot of elswheres.  With luck, no matter who wins tomorrow, the Republic will survive, and I’ve done all I can to influence that.  I voted.  I can have a lot more influence over what’s going to happen to us in 3 months.  That’s where I need to place most of my attention.

If you didn’t vote early … go vote.

–scene–

Leave a comment

Filed under Elections, Politics, Thoughts

Leave a Reply

