Taking the Pledge

And no, not radio pledge this time, though if you’re so inclined …

Here’s the deal.  My fat pants are snug.  This is not an acceptable situation.  I HATE it when my fat pants are snug.  So, it’s time to do something about that.

I was good today.  I only ate what I took in my lunch bag, which was pretty healthy.  For dinner, a turkey thigh, and some broccoli.  That following about a 15 mile bike ride.  This is going to be the key.  Eat less, exercise more.

But, as I’ve written before, I’ve had a weight problem all my life.  For one brief, shining moment, I touched 165 pounds.  It was nearly 19 years ago.  I don’t know if could possibly fight my way back down to that level.

But, I’m never going to be the 50 year old guy with the rock-hard abs and 3% body fat.  Why?  I’m just too lazy.

The 50+ year old guy with the rock hard abs and 3% body fat does nothing but work out and eats twigs, nuts, seeds, supplements, and an occasional boneless, skinless chicken breast.  Maybe with a little herbage, but God forbid there’s a little salt involved.  It might be for some, but I just don’t want to live that way.

I think it’s possible to be healthy without being a fanatic about it.  All I want is for my fat pants to be loose, and my less-fat-pants to fit.

So, the way to approach this is one day at a time.  I’ve done well today.  Lots of fruit and veggies and some exercise.  Tomorrow may be a bit more difficult with everything I have to do, but I’ll take it one day at a time.

But for the fat pants to be tight … this will not stand.

-0-

Pledge begins in a couple of days.  We’ve got a big hill to climb under less-than-ideal economic circumstances.  It will be a common theme over the next 2 weeks to encourage you, where ever you may live in the United States, to make a donation to your local public radio station.  If you’re one of my foreign visitors, I guess you’ll be paying your media tax if you have that.  I still think the voluntary contribution is the way to go.

Public Broadcasting has a very important place in the media landscape.  If you’re a listener, why not consider stepping up to the plate and helping out with a couple of sheckles.  Thanks very much in advance for your support.

–scene–

Leave a comment

Filed under Diet, Exercise, pledge, Public Radio, Weight

Leave a Reply

