Going to LA

In a couple of days.  I wish I was more looking forward to it, but it’s not like I’m going to Disneyland (R).  Actually, I wouldn’t want to go to Disneyland (R) anyway.

Talk about your whirlwind tours.  I’m flying out Saturday, and will be there for the last day of the Public Radio Program Directors Conference (PRPD). I won’t be there for much of the conference, but that’s OK.  All I have is a meeting on Sunday.  The good news is, the meeting is at NPR West, which I’m looking forward to seeing.  So it’s fly all day Saturday … have meetings Sunday … and fly all day Monday to get home.

Wheeeeeee.

At least someone else is paying for it.

I haven’t been to LA since we moved back from Santa Paula in ’87.  I’ve been to San Francisco, and to Seattle.  So I’ve been to the west coast.  Just not to Los Angeles.

The meeting is for the advisory panel for State of the Re:Union … Al Letson’s radio show that’s in development following the Public Radio Talent Quest.  So I’m going courtesy of CPB.  I’m glad to be on the advisory panel, but I’m going to be spending as much time on airplanes and in airports as I will in LA.  But, I’ll have my laptop with me, so I’ll be able to at least keep myself distracted.

I’ll be flying through Bush Airport in Houston, which is just re-opened after Ike blew through.  I read that it was only closed for a couple of days after the storm. I don’t know how much of the storm damage we’ll be able to see from the plane.  If the path takes us over Galveston, we might.   I don’t know if we’ll go over the Gulf or stay over land.  As I said, the last time I flew to the west coast, it was to Seattle, and that was all to the north.  That flight was a non-stop.  No such luck this time.

I used to really enjoy flying, but as I’ve written before on this blog, the tight schedules, the security, the crowded planes, it makes for a mostly wholly unpleasant experience. But at least this time I’m not paying $6 per seat per leg to reserve my seat on the plane.

-0-

I’ve got just two more “Week in Review” programs to do on television.  I’ve been pretty OK with it up until now, but I’m really starting to get bummed about it.  Over the past few days, between the 50th anniversary gala and last night at the MHA annual meeting, where many, many people approached me and told me how much they enjoy the show, that they never miss it, and how good a job I do with the show.  I never really wanted to be on television, but now that I’ve done it, it’s become a part of what I am.  I don’t put myself on a par with the big-time TV anchors in this town … but in my own little world, it’s been a great ride.  I really hope the program venture fund committee funds my call-in show idea.  That IS something that I’ve always wanted to do, and I may get the opportunity.  I’m just waiting for the project to be green-lighted and get it together.  Maybe I’ll be able to slip back into some kind of anonymity hosting the radio show.

-0-

On a related issue, my boss is moving on.  He’s accepted another position with a station down in South Florida.  Everyone’s been asking if that creates an opportunity for me.  Honestly, I don’t know.  It all depends on what the CEO decides to do with the position.  If it looks like something for which I might be qualified, I’ll certainly go for it.   Until then, I’ll just keep doing what I do, and do the best that I can.

–scene–

Leave a comment

Filed under Radio, Random Stuff, Stuff, Television, Thoughts, Travel, Work

Leave a Reply

