MMMMM Food

Well, almost none of the candidates I voted for won last night … and not any of the ones that really mattered.  So tonight …

Salmon Food!

I actually remembered to take a picture of tonight’s dinner before I sat down to eat it.  Andie had to go to a meeting tonight, so I got to cook fish.  I know I could cook fish any time, but I don’t like to cook two things at the same time.  Often, neither one turns out as well as it can when I can concentrate on on one thing.  Tonight, it was wild Alaskan salmon.

The fish was on sale at Publix, still more expensive than farm-raised, but still under $10 for a little over half a pound.  I couldn’t pass it up.

The fish I prepared simply.  Preheat the oven to 400 degrees,  I put together some olive oil, garlic powder, paprika, Italian seasoning, and basil.  Some Kosher salt and pepper on the fish, then the seasoned oil.  Into the oven for 20 minutes.

While the fish was baking, I sautéed some garlic in some olive oil until it was just starting to brown.  Then I added some chopped spinach and diced roasted red pepper until the spinach reduced.  At the end, I added some fresh grated parmesan cheese.  When the fish came out of the oven, I simply spread the topping on the fish.

It was really, really good, really really easy, and worth sharing.  So consider it shared.

-0-

I had to write about something besides politics and current affairs … as politics is pretty depressing right now.  Really.  I’ll vote, but I’m thinking about just tuning it the rest of it out until November 5th.  I won’t be able to do that, of course, but it’s damned tempting.

But for now, I’ll leave it at food.  I’m looking forward to a nice trip to the mountains this weekend.  It’ll be good to get away again.

–scene–

Leave a comment

Filed under Fish, Food, Recipies

Leave a Reply

