A Week of Rough Weather Ahead

hcane Well, the forecast now is that Fay will miss Tampa, and make landfall somewhere around the Big Bend area as a category 1 hurricane.  Jacksonville is definitely in the “cone of concern”, so we’re not out of the woods by any stretch.  It looks like it’ll pass about 100 miles west of us, but that will still bring tropical storm force winds and heavy rain to the area … as well as the threat of tornadoes.   I’ll need to check the hurricane kit tomorrow, and we’ll need to get water for sure.  But I think this is just the wake up call.  Nobody is panicking yet, and I haven’t brought the shutters down from the garage attic.  I’m not expecting we’ll need them, but I know I can get to them quickly if that changes.

I made beef ribs tonight … braised for 2 1/2 hours with beef stock, tomatoes, red bell peppers, carrots, onions, garlic, chili powder and horseradish in my big Le Cruset dutch oven.  I browned them first with just a little salt and pepper … then lidded them up in the dutch oven for 2 hours at 325, and finished them at 250 for half an hour.

Once the meat was falling-off-the-bone tender … I put the veggies in a saucier with a little water and skim milk to cut the heat, and went to town with the stick blender.  The veggies pureed very nicely, and it made a wonderful sauce for the ribs.  Better than most barbecue sauces, IMHO.  There was a lot of sauce left over, so I saved it in the fridge.  I hope I can find a good use for it.  There IS some leftover pulled pork in there.  Hmmmmmm.

I missed the bike today.  I had a flat about 15 miles into my ride yesterday … and had to have Andie come get me.  A tiny little sliver of metal found its way into the tire and punctured the inner tube.  I bought two this afternoon, and installed one.  I hope the weather holds so I can ride in the morning.  It should be OK.  But it’s also the first day of school, which means traffic will be a mess.  And frustrated parents don’t like being behind the bicycle.  I hope they’ll be able to cope with me in the morning.

It’s been a very quiet weekend.  Very hot, humid, and threatening rain all weekend.  I should have run the boat, but didn’t really have a good excuse to waste the gas.  Next weekend, we have the station 50th anniversary open house Saturday all day, and Saturday night, Al Letson is having a kickoff party for State of the Re:UNION.  Maybe the weather will hold for some boating on Sunday.

Then, we’re headed up to North Carolina to visit Andie’s dad and his significant other.  It’ll be much cooler up in the mountains.  I’ve not been up there except to just drive through for a long time … so I’m very much looking forward to the visit.

But for now, just getting the hurricane supplies together, making sure we have water if they have to shut down the city water system.  Very unlikely with this storm if it tracks the way it’s forecast … but you can never really trust that track.  Better to be ready.  It’s all just part of life at the beach.

–scene–

1 Comment

Filed under Beach Living, Cooking, Hurricane, Life, Recipies, Thoughts, Weather

One response to “A Week of Rough Weather Ahead

  1. Mark Happer

    Lovely recipe,good luck with the weather…I never cycle without a puncture repair kit,and pump…make sure you keep your tyres inflated to the correct pressure,as this helps to prevent punctures! (Love the beach) Mark.(Scotland)

Leave a Reply

