A Beach Bum Looks at 50 … 1 Day

50 Yep, tomorrow’s the big day.  I don’t imagine it’ll be anything earth-shattering.  Just another day.  I think the whole “do you feel 50” thing would have been far more associated with the party on Saturday than just another Wednesday.  At least that’s the hope.  We’ll find out tomorrow, I guess.

I’ve never really had any kind of problem with the milestone birthdays.  I don’t imagine tomorrow will be any different.

-0-

I was the rare person who walked out of college and walked into a job in my field a week later.  I’ve never not worked in broadcasting in some capacity.  I nearly lost that first job when I took a month unpaid leave to go to Australia.  Speaking of stories.  We chartered a boat and a captain and spent a week diving and spearfishing off the coast of Australia.  After the week on a boat, we spent three weeks driving up the east Australian coast to Cairnes, and then back down to Sydney.  We stopped at the Workmans Club in Townsville, (Doug reminds me it was actually in Tamworth.  It might have been a bit drunk and disorderly that month) where the cashier looked at me like I was from Mars when I asked for a roll of dimes.  He’d never heard of a dime.  We hiked back into the Canarvan Gorge National Park where we saw 10 thousand year old cave paintings.  We fed wallabys out of our hands and drove 80-90 kilometers per hour on the wrong side of the road on dirt tracks that disappeared to a point on the horizon.  The little old lady who took us into her apartment and gave us hot coffee on an unseasonably cold August morning.  There was frost on the windshield.  You have to remember, that’s the dead of winter down under.  It was an amazing month.  And I was lucky to have my job when I got back.

Much has passed in the intervening 28 years.

Wow … it’s been more than half my life since I was there.

I’ve been fortunate to be able to see some wonderful places.  Australia was by far the most exotic, but I’ve also spent a lot of time on islands in the ocean.  I’ve not traveled to Europe, but I’d certainly love to do that some day.

So, married twice … the best kid I could have possibly hoped for … all life’s ups and downs.  But on balance, more ups than downs.

So now, I hope I’m about at the half-way point.  And as Jimmy Buffett wrote:

“I ate the last mango in Paris, took the last plane out of Saigon.  Caught the first fast boat to China … and Jimmy (Tommy?) there’s still so much to be done”.

–scene–

Leave a comment

Filed under 50, Australia, Beach Living, Radio, Thoughts

Leave a Reply

