A Beach Bum Looks at 50 … 4 Days

50 The birthday party was tonight … and it mostly went really well.  Except for one thing.

Andie went to the trouble to book The Druids, John Citrone’s band that I’ve sat in with on a rare occasion in the past.  They’re a lot of fun, little 3 piece rock and roll band.  I would have gotten to play, too.

I say would have, but they got through all of about 4 songs, and somebody called the police.  Some poor, soulless curmudgeon that couldn’t stand somebody having a band in their back yard.  And they didn’t call at like 10:00 at night.  They showed up at 6:30 and shut the band down.

Oh well.  The policeman was only doing his job, and there’s no such thing as an amplified music permit in Neptune Beach.  So, there was no way to get a variance.  4 damn songs.  Everybody was pretty bummed.

Other than that, the party was a resounding success. One old curmudgeon.  Bah.

Anyway, as always, everyone seemed to have a good time.  We  had plenty of food, plenty of drink, good cigars, nothing to complain about except the band couldn’t play.

I’ll write more tomorrow or Monday.  Mike and Linda are still in town, so I don’t know how much I’ll write tomorrow.

Oh, and trimming back the stick plant today, I got the sap on my t-shirt, and then wiped sweat off my face with the shirt.  I got the damn sap in my eye, so I may be going back to the eye doctor in the morning.  That’d suck.  I’d much rather go to breakfast.  We’ll see how it is in the morning.

That’s all.  More tomorrow.

–scene–

Leave a comment

Filed under 50, Birthday, Thoughts

Leave a Reply

