Milk Comedy and Creative Spam

I’m improvising again. This is going to be a huge amount of fun. Scott’s putting “the band” back together. 

milk Introducing the Milk Comedy Crew.  I don’t know where it comes from.  Probably something to do with the infamous “Gallon Challenge”.  You know the one.  It’s almost impossible to drink an entire gallon of milk without having it come back to haunt you … like immediately.  What ever the genesis of the name, I’m in.  We start playing August 15th at The Ocean Club Liquor Store at the beach.  8:00 PM … $5.00 cover.  That’s a Friday night at the beach.

We started working on a couple of games tonight, just trying to blow out the cobwebs and remembering how to play.

But to be on stage again with Scott and Jeff Kalish and Don G and Della and we hope John Citrone … it’s going to be a blast.  I hope I can keep up.  I’m going to give it my best effort.

Milk2a

So come on out and check us out at the OC liquor Store in Jacksonville Beach in 3 weeks.  We may actually remember how to play the games and make you laugh.   But if you come, come prepared to make suggestions and be part of the show.  Improv only works when you play along.  I hope we’ll see you there.

-0-

Meanwhile, I got a third e-mail from “The FBI” today.  I’ve gotten a couple of these before, trying to convince me that it’s really from the FBI and that:

The Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) Washington Dc, in conjunction with the United Nations (UN) financial department have investigated through our monitoring network noting that your transaction with Bank of Ghana (STANDARD TRUST BANK GHANA) is legal.You have the legitimate right to complete your transaction to claim your over due fund without any impediment.
We advice you to proceed with the transactions as we are monitoring their activities.Meanwhile, you are advice to follow their constitutional procedure.They have statutory   procedure, which has been examined and verified in conformity with United States financial authorities. You are hereby advised to follow their instructions while you keep us updated for more details.

It’s the latest twist on the old Nigerian money transfer scam.

Notice how they “advice” me to take this action.  You’d think these guys would find someone who could actually speak and write English for this kind of thing.  I’m being assured that it’s all perfectly legal, but for some reason the FBI wants to track the transaction.

image The even went to the trouble to copy a header from an FBI website to try to make the e-mail appear legitimate, and pasted a poorly-cropped picture of Robert Mueller at the bottom

image The sad thing is, somebody may fall for it.  I don’t know how, but somebody might.  I’m sure I’m not the only one who’s gotten one of these, but it’s new enough to not have shown up on Snopes yet.  So, if you’ve searched on “FBI Scam” and stumbled across this blog, rest assured that The FBI is not going to be sending you an e-mail in broken English advicing you to continue with this kind of transaction so they can wiretap and monitor the activities of the perpetrators.  It’s just never going to happen.  In your heart of hearts, you knew that.  It’s particularly true if you, like me, have never responded to one of those scam e-mails.  Suddenly, the FBI knows you have an open case going on?  Uh-uh.

But, you’ve got to give them props for trying something new.

One day, I got no fewer than three e-mails telling me I’d won a random e-mail address lottery for several million dollars.  Each. My luckiest day ever.  It almost makes me wish it were true.  But don’t fall for this ridiculous scam.  If the FBI wants to track your activities … they’re NOT going to tell you.  It’s not the way they roll.  If they want to investigate you, they don’t even need a warrant to do so any more, at least in some situations.

-0-

Pledge got off to a slow start this morning.  John Bryan is with me in the morning.  Don’t let us down.

–scene–

Leave a comment

Filed under Beach Living, Improv Comedy, Jacksonville Beach, Public Radio, Scams

Leave a Reply

