Red Sky in the Morning

July 12th 7:30 AM  Pics are up on Flickr.

Red SkySailors take warning.  I woke up at my usual time … right around 6:00, and saw the sky just glowing red.  And not the usual red from a sunrise.  This is the total effect of Hurricane Bertha on the Bahamas as she spins up to the north, still expected to pass east of Bermuda.  But I’m afraid her damage is done.

The seas are big this morning.  Bigger than yesterday.  I’d say we have about a 50/50 chance of being able to dive today. We’ll just have to see what the boss says.  But looking out the window at the breakers, I’m thinking it’s pretty dicey.

Why am I looking out the window at the breakers, and not sitting out on the deck?  Well, from our “no place is perfect” department … and this place comes as close as anywhere I’ve been … the no-see-ums nearly picked me up and carried me away when I went out on the deck to take these pictures.

Red Sky 14 Even a good dosing of Off Skintastic didn’t slow the little buggers down for very long.  I might be able to go out now, as the sun’s up and the bugs may have already started their day-long siesta.  But in the morning and the evening … dawn and dusk … if there’s little or no breeze … fuhgeddaboutit. 

So, with diving today in pretty serious jeopardy, and knowing we probably shouldn’t tomorrow as we fly on Monday, we’ll have to look for alternative entertainment for the afternoon.  I know Andie’s been wanting to head over to Hopetown on Great Abaco Island, and Sunday didn’t look like a good day for that, so it could be the alternative today.  We’ll check first at the dive shop and see what Brendal says about getting the boat out today.  But I know he won’t go if it’s not safe.  And there’s no reason to be on a dive boat with a bunch of seasick people.  That’s no fun.

Last night, we went over to Pineapples again, where Brendal was sitting in on guitar with a little two-piece reggae band.  The guy is just everywhere.  We also caught up with James and Nikki, the British couple we dove with on Wednesday.  They had to be on the 6:00 AM ferry this morning, though, so they didn’t stay very late.  Alexandra and her son Tommy from the No Name Cay trip were also there.  I’ll write more about that later.  It looks like I may have a good chance to.

And I’ll leave you with one more picture of a Red Sky in the Morning.

Red Sky 20

–scene–

Leave a comment

Filed under Abaco, Bahamas, Diving, Photography, Photos, SCUBA, Thoughts, Weather

Leave a Reply

