A Quiet Saturday at the Beach

I pretty much did nothing today.  Nothing.  I’m still fighting this stomach thing, which if it’s not better by Monday, I’ll have to call and make an appointment with the doctor. 

I managed to get out on the bike this morning, which the stomach thing didn’t make any easier.  But I gutted it out (pun intended) and finished an 18 mile ride.  I just felt like I have to try to maintain something of a normal schedule.  I don’t feel terrible, but when I have to run to the head … I have to run.  I’m hoping I won’t be up and down half the night.  Sleeping is good.

It threatened to rain, which meant I didn’t get the boat off the rack.  It never did rain here more than a bit of a sprinkle.  Daytona to the south and Savannah to the north both got pretty well pounded.

Mostly I took it easy, but I’m not feeling any better for my efforts.  I really hope this passes soon.

-0-

I’ll only comment on this tonight.  In Canada, a judge overturned a fathers punishment of his daughter.  Seems the 12 year old girl posted some information on an internet dating site … so the dad … the custodial parent … grounded her and said she couldn’t go on a class field trip.  The judge said the punishment was too harsh, and told the girl she could go. 

AFP reports:

According to court documents, the girl’s Internet transgression was just the latest in a string of broken house rules. Even so, Justice Suzanne Tessier found her punishment too severe.

I guess they do things a little differently north of the border.  How any judge could have found any precedent to step into this kind of situation is just completely foreign to me (again, pun intended). 

Is this the kind of government we really want to emulate?

–scene–

Leave a comment

Filed under Beach Living

Leave a Reply

