Mmmmmmm Meatloaf

My mother made the best meatloaf ever.  It was always a favorite when I was growing up.  So I learned to make meatloaf. The secret is … BACON!

Meatloaf 1 Tonight, there was a twist.  I made them small and cooked them on the grill.  Probably the best meatloaf I’ve ever done.

Now, if you read this blog regularly, you know I don’t measure much.  So everything is just kind of “some”. All measurements are approximate.  Experiment, it’s what the kitchen is for.

Build a medium fire in your grill.  You’ll want to keep a temperature of about 350 in the grill.  If you can, build it off to one side and put down some foil on the other to catch drippings. 

For the meatloaf(s), you’ll need:

About a pound each of ground beef and ground pork.  1/2 cup seasoned bread crumbs, 1/4 cup ketchup, 2T worstershire sauce,  1 large egg, 1/4 cup chopped scallions or Vidalia onion.  3 cloves chopped garlic, salt and pepper.  Throw it all in a bowl and mix with your hands until it just comes together.  Don’t overmix or it’ll be crumbly.  Divide into three equal portions and form into loaves.  Then, the secret ingredient.  Cover each loaf with bacon.  For this size, one strip cut in half will do.

Put the loaves on the cool side of the grill.  Drop the cover and walk away.  Just walk away.  Meatloaf 3 In about 45 minutes, take the temperature of the largest loaf.  You won’t make them all the same size, you know you won’t.  You’re looking for an internal temperature of about 160.  If you pull them off at about 155 and let them rest, they’ll coast up to 160, 

Seen served here with some sauteed green beans (microwaved, then sauteed in butter) with almonds. 

-0-

Meanwhile, yesterday I wrote:

People like me who spend their days steeped in the news might actually have a clue about what’s going on.  Not to say that others don’t, but there’s a much higher probability that I’ll have a more informed opinion on the issues, and that might skew their results.

When I read it again, it seemed kind of conceited.  I do feel like I’m well informed, because I do spend a lot of time reading, but more than most?  I don’t know.  I need an editor.

–scene–

Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking, Food, grilling, recipes

Leave a Reply

