Hot Licks and Random Pics

Rock 1I fancy myself a guitar player.  I picked up my first stringed instrument, a ukulele, when I was 6.  Dad taught me a few chords, and I’ve played ever since, 

So of course, I’ve listened to a lot of guitar rock.  Sometimes, I’ve even fancied myself as someone who could actually play.  Then, I read things like this.

Rolling Stone published “The Top 100 Guitar Songs of All Time”.  I’m somehow awed and crushed at the same time.  So many hooks and riffs that I’m THAT close to being able to play.  Maybe my summer project should be to just work it 30 minutes a day. 

Rolling Stone’s #1 guitar hook is the intro to “Johnny B. Goode” … which is as old as me.  First recorded in 1958. 

I agree with a lot of the list.  Aerosmiths’ “Walk This Way”, “Stairway to Heaven”. Half a dozen things by Eric Clapton.  Mark Knopfler makes the list.  And, of course, Jimi Hendrix.  I could get lost in the site for days.  Of course, there were some tunes I’ve never heard.  And some I wouldn’t have put there.  But if we all had the same opinions, it’d be a pretty boring place.

-0-

The random pics I stumbled across are not mine … in fact, nobody knows who they belong to.

Vintage The back story is, a guy looking at a camera at a flea market found a role of film in it.  And eventually, he had it processed.  And then, he started checking every camera he found a flea markets, thrift stores, antique dealers … where ever.  And he’s scanned a few hundred of them and put them online on a site called mangofalls.com.  It’s fascinating.  Hundreds of pictures of random people, many from the 60’s and 70’s.  The fashions and hairstyles … and lots of people smoking. 

Digital photography will slowly make this kind of project impossible.  I don’t think people are going to leave their 2 gig chips in the cameras that wind up in the antique store in 2110.  And computers in the next century will probably not read my little secure digital chip.  Maybe Flickr will still be around in 100 years, and my great-great grandchildren will be able to see my pictures. 

Not like going through boxes and boxes of random pictures trying to figure out who they are, and when. 

Maybe that’s not such a bad thing.

–scene–

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Classic Rock, Nostalgia, Photography, Thoughts

Leave a Reply

