Emergency TV’s and Cedar Plank Salmon

I had in interesting conversation with Andie this morning about the emergency televisions people own for use during a hurricane.

Next season, they won’t work any more.

She’d said something about getting a digital converter box for her $5.00 (that’s not a typo) little black and white TV she bought to have in her office, and that can be used when the power goes out … like in a hurricane.  It has about a 3″ screen and you tune it with an old-style analog dial … but it works.  It picks up battery tvover-the-air television signals, and doesn’t have to be connected to the wall.  It looks rather like this one.

But therein lies the rub, as the Bard says.  After Feb 17th, 2009, there will be nothing that this television will receive without a digital converter box.  And that will have to plug into the wall. And when the power’s out, well, no converter box, no TV signal, no emergency information.

I wonder if they’ve thought that through.

The radio and television stations here work pretty closely together during emergency weather situations.  We use a lot of audio from First Coast News on our air when we don’t have enough to fill.  Still, until small battery operated digital televisions are in wide use, I’m guessing we’ll have a lot more listenership during tropical weather, particularly when the power lines start to go down.  Radios will still operate on batteries, and we’ll still be broadcasting the same, old analog signal we always have … along with our digital channels.  And, one of our digital channels is tuned to NOAA weather radio.  At least for that, we’re all set. Not to mention that we’re the state-designated emergency information conduit for this area … for which the state gave us exactly “0”.   Still, there are signs up on the freeway that say “For emergency information, tune to 89.9” right along with the hurricane evacuation route signs.  And we have all the appropriate generators at the studios and transmitter site to keep us going until the water gets too high. 

I hope we never have to use any of it.

-0-

I’ve been getting back to the bicycling.  18 miles this morning … and nearly 60 miles last week.  Andie and I are both trying really hard to not eat so much, and I’ve fought my way back down to 225.  But I’ve got a long way to go to be down closer to 200-210 before we go to Abaco in July.  I just don’t want to look like a sausage stuffed into my wetsuit. 

-0-

I had something else I wanted to write about, but it’s slipped my mind.  But I cooked what I think was the best piece of salmon I’ve ever eaten the other night.  It was also an extra-easy recipe.  *Caution!* I’m estimating the proportions of the ingredients, as I only did it with one piece of fish.  And I rarely measure anything … so everything’s “to taste”.  With that caveat … here’s how I did it.

4 Salmon Filets … about 2/3 pound each.

Combine 1 cup teriyaki marinade, 1/4 cup sesame oil, and 1/2T powdered ginger.  Place salmon in a zip-top bag, pour in marinade, and place in the refrigerator for an hour.

Soak 1 cedar plank for each piece of fish during the hour you’re marinating.

Build a medium fire in the center of your grill.  If you have a movable coal tray, set it pretty low to avoid setting the planks on fire.  If you’ve soaked properly, that shouldn’t be a problem.  Place each piece of fish skin side down onto a cedar plank, and put them directly over the coals.  Close the lid and walk away.

When the fish reaches an internal temperature of 130-135 … remove from the heat and let them coast up to 140.  Fish should be firm to the touch, and the teriyaki will have made a nice glaze.  Meanwhile, the cedar will have imparted a world of flavor into the fish.

The same recipe worked for the chicken breast I did for Andie as well, since she doesn’t eat fish.  But the chicken went to an internal temp of 160.  It was moist, juicy, perfect.   And yes, I marinated in separate bags.  No cross-contamination for me.

-0-

A bit of a hodgepodge for a Sunday afternoon.  I need to go to Lowes and look for something that will help me support the radio I installed in the boat.  I don’t know why I though it wouldn’t just fall out of the hole I cut, but I had hopes.  Now, I need to look for some kind of bracing to install.  I think I know what I’m going to do … if I can find the right parts.  If I remember what else I was going to write about … I’ll post it later.

–scene–

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Boat, boat repair, Recipies, Television, Weather

Leave a Reply

