That’s Just Sick … and Other Stories

Illness is apparently popular on the Interwebs.  I think the most viewed entries on this blog are the ones dealing with a recent bout of gastroenteritis, and the entries in which I describe my tribulations with a scratched cornea.  I’ll say that my tummy is better.  My eye has never fully recovered, at least for indoor use.  I am able to see day marks out on the ocean as many as 3 miles away in bright sunlight, but sometimes I have a hard time seeing across the room to the clock.  That can be bad when you’re trying to hit a post in Morning Edition.  But I’m coping.  Not a day goes by, though, that I don’t see the search term gastroenteritis or scratched eye … or both.  People do love to self-diagnose on the Internet.

-0-

PV Derelict 1 I have no idea how this boat got up above the high tide line on the Intercoastal Waterway, but it’s been there as long as I’ve been cruising south through Palm Valley.  She sits on the west side of the waterway, a couple of miles south of the Butler Boulevard bridge.  There must have been one hell of a high tide to pick it up and set it among the palm trees in the area that’s supposed to be part of the green space for Nocatee.  Who knows what else is piled up over there.  One of these days I’m going to cruise down there and it’s going to be gone.  That’s how I’ll know the Über-development is on the way.

-0-

I did whole smoked chickens on the grill last night, which turned out really well.  I don’t know if I could tell you everything that went into it, but I’ll try.

First, the marinade.  It was apple cider vinegar, kosher salt, ground sage, garlic powder, onion powder, mustard powder, smoked paprika, and topped off with water.  I put the chickens in zip-top bags and poured in the marinade, then put the whole thing in the fridge for a couple of hours, turning once. 

For the rub, I used garlic powder, onion powder, mustard powder, smoked paprika, ground sage, and ground rosemary.  Everything’s to taste.  When I took the chicken out of the marinade, I sprinkled them with kosher salt and black pepper, then liberally rubbed on the rub.  In the cavity some crushed garlic buds and fresh rosemary sprigs.  Then, it was off the the grill.

I built an offset fire, with coals separated to the right and left, leaving open tray in the center.  I put down a foil pan with red wine, water, and onion on the bare tray between the piles of coals.  In a smoking tray, I put several big chunks of hickory that I’d soaked in water and put the smoking tray on one pile of the coals.  The chickens go on the grill over the pan, close the lid, and leave it until you get an internal temperature in the thigh of about 160-165.  Take the chooks (look it up in a strine dictionary) off the grill, put them on a cutting board, and let them rest for 10 minutes or so before you disassemble them.  I just quartered them.  It’ll look dark, but that’s from the rub and the smoke.  It was really, really good.

-0-

And finally, pledge is going pretty well.  We still need about $60K by Friday, but we’ve gone into the last day needing that kind of money occasionally.  Still, there’s no reason for you not to make a pledge to your public radio station.  Just try it once.  You’ll wonder why you ever thought it was so difficult.

C’mon.  Just give it  a try …

–scene–

2 Comments

Filed under Beach Living, Boat Stuff, Photos, Thoughts

2 responses to “That’s Just Sick … and Other Stories

  1. Boats end up in the strangest places. The Chicken sounds awesome… gotta try that.

  2. Pingback: Another Day on the Water « Life’s a Beach

Leave a Reply

