It Looks Like Snow

And it does.

Snow Dune

That was one of the comments I got from a Flickr friend when I posted this picture after taking an early day Friday.  It was, actually, one of the things that caught my eye.

In the bright sunshine, this dune near The Jetties at the mouth of the St. Johns River does look like snow.  And with the sea oats at the base of the dune, and the dark smudges likely from diesel soot in the white sand makes it look surprisingly like the dirty piles of snow that are piled up in parking lots anywhere it actually snows.  I so recall the mountains of dirty snow that would linger to May sometimes after a particularly hard winter.  I’m really glad that I no longer have to deal with THAT every winter. 

Snow Dune BW The same picture rendered in black and white makes it look even colder.  Now, when I shot this picture, it was about 75 degrees.  A fair breeze was up, and it was just a really nice day.  But in black and white, it could be 35 degrees, just starting to melt … it looks like snow.

Hell, in color too.  I remember many cold, crisp days then the sky was that blue and a cold wind blew across the snow fields.  It was particularly that way out west.  Skiing in Colorado, the snow was that white, and the sky that blue, and really warm so you could ski in shirt sleeves and get a sunburn on the slopes.  More than one spring I came back from Colorado with peeling ears.  That was before I completely ruined my knees.  Now, I could no more snow ski than I could run a marathon.  But it was fun while it lasted.

So yes, it looks like snow. 

The good news is … it’s not.

–scene–

Leave a comment

Filed under Beach Living, Photos

Leave a Reply

