I need to watch more Sesame Street

Couple of things. 

The Geography Bee was a lot of fun.  10 middle school kids from around the state answering some really hard questions.  I know i said I was going to post a few of them here, but I walked off and left my booklet on the table, so I can’t do that.  But they were difficult questions, for the most part.  We got started about an hour later than I anticipated, but still were wrapped up by 5:00.  It was impressive what those kids knew.  It ws kind of sad that the young man who was 2nd was 2nd the previous year as well.  The winner goes to DC to compete in the national competition.  Good Luck.

-0-

Pledge starts tomorrow.  I’ve got to be at the station by about 7:45 to be on the air at 8:00.  I know there will be enough people listening tomorow that, if I could convince 1,430 of them to pledge $100, we’d be done in a day.  It really could be done, but I know the good people of Jacksonville, Duval, Clay, Baker, Nassau, St. Johns, and Flagler counties are going to make me wait all the way to the last day to reach the goal.  I don’t know why, but they will.  It could be soooo easy … and for some reason, my audience seems to like to listen to us for two weeks.  Well, if that’s the way they want it, that’s what they’ll get.

-0-

Now, to the title of this post.  And with the new interface WordPress has put in place, I hope I can get these all linked up.  I found out today that two of my favorite shows have been parodied on Sesame Street.  I was a little too old for Sesame Street when it debuted 35 or so years ago, which didn’t really stop me from watching.  Now, these, I’m sure, are done for the parents … but they’re funny as can be.

(Time Passes.  After about and hour of frustratingly trying to embed the videos ….)

Unfortunately, I can’t make the new embed tool work, so you can see what I’m talking about here and here.  Very nice parodies of CSI Miami, and Law and Order: Special Victims Unit.  The Horatio and Munch puppets are great.  If the rain holds up all weekend, I’ll work on figuring out th enew embed tool.

 -0-

The DVR is recording the first installment of the final season of Battlestar Galactica.  I love that they made a gritty space drama out of a cheesey ’70’s Star Wars ripoff.  I really didn’t want to like it, but it’s almost as good for is genre as “The Wire” was for cop shows.

Almost.

And now, since there is a a new interface I’m going to have to learn to use, I guess I should try for another random pic from Flickr

Derelict Houseboat on the St. Johns River

 Nothing like a derelict boat to make your day.

Make a pledge to public radio.

–scene–

Leave a comment

Filed under Boat, Photography, Photos, Public Radio

Leave a Reply

