Not Green Enough to be Irish

Irish I’m not a big fan of  manufactured holidays … which I realize are most of them.  But there are two which seem to be focused primarily on drinking, which used to a big deal for me.  But not so much any more.  St. Patrick’s Day and Cinco de Mayo are the most well known.  Octoberfest is right up there as well, but it can go on for a month.  The Germans can really throw a party.

Cycling through Jacksonville Beach this evening, the party was getting underway as early as 6:30.  There are several “Irish” pubs in Jax Beach, and the wearers of the green were already lined up out the door of both Fiona McCools and Lynches.  I don’t want to be disparaging of those who choose to celebrate in that way, but for me, I can think of only a few things less appealing than pushing my way into a crowded bar and getting drunk with several hundred of my closest friends. No thanks.

Andie said she saw 3 accidents outside Culhanes next door to Publix … and it wasn’t even 9:30. 

Now, while Andie doesn’t celebrate the faux holidays by getting puking drunk in a bar, but she does celebrate everything.  And I mean EVERYTHING.  Fortunately, we’ve arrived at a reasonable compromise that keeps the yard signs and decorations to a minimum for most of them.  Just a couple of yard signs the past few days.  Very reasonable.   She does have accessories for every occasion, but those are mostly worn only on the actual “holiday”. 

Here’s the deal.  I’m not Irish, I’m not Hispanic.  I AM half German, but I don’t make a big deal out of Octoberfest either.  But like I said, that’s not a specific day.  And I’d love to travel to Germany in the fall sometime … if the dollar ever improves against the Euro.

So, if you’re one of those out tonight reveling in your faux Irishness, have fun and be safe.  Just remember, like New Year’s Eve … it’s armature night, and there are a lot of people who don’t drink for a living out over-indulging tonight.  If you’re ACTUALLY of Irish heritage, I hope the you enjoy the day no matter how you celebrate.  But I get the impression this is far more an American holiday than an Irish one. 

Me, I don’t look great in green.

–scene–

   

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Beach Living

Leave a Reply

