Pot Roast

I need to learn to start taking pictures of what I cook.  It was a pot roast tonight, and I do enjoy pot roast.  I could have left it in the oven for another 30 – 45 minutes, but that would have meant it would have been 9:00 before we had dinner.  So not quite fork tender, but close.

Want to try it?  It’s really easy.

You’ll need:

2 – 2 1/2 pound pot roast.
1/2 cup each red bell pepper, yellow bell pepper, carrots and onion, coarsely chopped.
1/2 cup tomato sauce
1 cup dry red wine
1 T Worcestershire sauce.
1 T garlic powder
1t each smoked paprika, dried mustard, powdered rosemary, chili powder.
2 T vegetable oil.
Kosher Salt.
Black Pepper, fresh ground.

Pre-heat oven to 325.  In a large, cast iron dutch oven (I prefer my 5Q Le Cruset … enameled cast iron), heat vegetable oil over medium heat.  Salt and pepper all sides of the roast.  Combine dry ingredients and pat onto the roast, coating lightly.  Lightly sear the roast in the vegetable oil on all sides.  Remove roast from dutch oven and deglase with the red wine.  Add onion, pepper, and carrots.  Cook for 3 minutes.  Add tomato sauce and Worcestershire and stir, cooking for an additional 2 minutes.  Return roast to the dutch oven, cover, and place in the center of the 325 degree oven for at least 2 hours, but the longer it’s in the oven, the more tender it will become. 

When the roast is done, remove from the dutch oven and set aside to rest.  Using a stick blender, puree the vegetables in the sauce.  Transfer to a sauce pan or saucier to stay warm while you work on the sides.  The suace is great on the meat, and if you’ve made potatoes to go with your pot roast, put it on them as well.  It’s a classically American dish using a reasonably priced cut of beef … which is a rarity these days.  Give it a try. 

-0-

We’re back to Daylight Savings Time tomorrow.  I’m of a mind that we should stay on daylight time all the time.  My mission will be to get back on the bike regularly once it’s no longer dark at 6:30.  I don’t mind to ride in the dark, but I’d much rather be out in the daylight in the evening.  Once the days start really getting longer, and the summer heat settles in, I’ll be up riding in the morning just to beat the heat and the traffic.  I really prefer to ride in the morning, but when it’s 40 degrees in the morning, and 65 in the afternoon, I think it’s a no-brainer when to ride. 

It will make it weird to wake up tomorrow at 9:00 rather than 8:00 … but I don’t think I ever really adjust to Standard time.  It’s like the default position for the car top is down … the default time should be EDT.  And we’re only on Standard time 4 months no, so hopefully they’ll do away with it altogether in my lifetime.  In the meantime, I’ll change clocks.

-0-

Not changing clocks was one of the few advantages of living in Indiana.  They’ve since changed the time law there, and “Indiana Stagnant Time” is pretty much a thing of the past.  One of the big disadvantages was March snow … and they apparently had a doozy yesterday.  5-7 inches in the town where I used to live, while over in Columbus, OH, a bona-fide blizzard with 20 inches of snow.  I’m really, really happy to be in Florida, where I was out in shorts today, driving with the top down on the car.  I’m no fan of snow, particularly when it’s past time.  And March is past time.

Here, it was sunny, cool, and the wind blew 25 all day, with gusts to 40.  Still, it’s way better than snow.

Way.

–scene–

Leave a comment

Filed under Beach Living, Cooking, Recipies, Thoughts, Weather

Leave a Reply

