Windbuggy

33 of you looked at some part of this blog yesterday.  Thanks very much.  You almost make me think I might have something to say … it was the blogs’ best day.

Unfortunately tonight, there’s not a lot to be said.  It was one of those days at work that was just work, Andie’s not home, so it’s been quiet after work … a big  yawn-fest.  And that won’t be compelling enough to keep you coming back.

windbuggy.jpgThis is cool, and I’ve always wanted to try one.  It’s basically a three wheel frame with a little lateen rigged sail that cruises up and down the beach.  I think it would be a lot of fun to play with.  I’ve seen him hiked out up on two of the three wheels in a stiff breeze.  Not quite the same as sailing, but not bad.  A land sailor, I guess it should be called.  Or a windbuggy.  I like that.  It has a very “Mad Max” kind of  sound to it.

I wish I had the skills to make such a thing.  God knows, I wouldn’t want to go the the expense of buying it.  It looks like it should be such an easy thing to do, and yet I’m sure once you got into it, it’d be impossible.  Or at least I’d find it to be.  I’m not very mechanical … or even very handy.

I’m going to have to be, though, to fix the boat.  I finally figured out that the ongoing leak in the livewell system that was pouring water into the bilge came from an open seacock down by the bilge pump.  When I went to try to close it, the damn handle broke off in my hand.  I was NOT happy.  It’s down in a fairly inaccessible place in the bilge, and the only way to get to it is through an access port back by the transom.  I’ll have to have them pull the boat, put it on a work rack, take it apart, go get the part, and then put it back together.  It’s going to be a long day, or maybe two.  And since it’s all below the waterline, of course, sealing is critical.  The joys of boat ownership.  I COULD just ask the mechanic at the marina to do it, but I have NO idea what the new owners shop rate is, so I’ll try to do it myself.  I’m sure I can save myself at least $65/hour, and it’s not rocket science … just a pain.

incoming.jpg

I wrote the other day about how the dolphin had literally dove under the boat a couple of time while we were playing auqapaparazzi Sunday.  I wanted to show this picture, which I’ve titled “Incoming“.  This pair was the first to dive under the boat, and are seen here on their approach.  I really didn’t know what to expect as they got close, but then finally under they went, not to reappear until they were 15 yards or so on the other side.  It’s one of the things I love about diving.  You’re so out there with the things that live in the water, and not always at the top of the food chain.  Somewhere I have a video of a shark dive we did in the Bahamas.  I think it would make a fascinating YouTube.  Finding it and posting it sounds like a project.

That’s pretty much the news from Lake Woebegone By-The-Sea (with apologies to Garrison Keillor).  Maybe tomorrow will be a tad more interesting.

–scene–

Leave a comment

Filed under Beach Living, Boat, Boat Stuff, Flora, Stuff, Thoughts

Leave a Reply

