Black Sesame Pork Chops with Curry Rice

OK, I know I don’t normally post twice in a day.  But I had the previous post already underway when I started dinner, which turned out really well, so I thought I’d post the recipe.

So here are what I’m now calling Black Sesame Pork Chops.

 You’ll need:

2 pork chops thin to medium.
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1/8 cup sesame oil
2T Asian chili oil
1T soy sauce
About 1/8 cup black sesame seeds per chop.
Powdered ginger to taste.

For the marinade, combine the oils and soy sauce.  Whisk together until an emulsion forms.  Place pork chops in a zip top bag and pour in the marinade.  Let sit for 30 minutes to an hour.

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees (F)

Spray a heavy cast iron grill pan with non-stick spray.

On a flat surface (I used a paper plate) place a layer of black sesame seeds seasoned with powdered ginger.  Lay the pork chops in the seeds and coat completely on both sides and place in the grill pan. 

Roast in the oven until the internal temperature of the meat reaches 145-150, about 15-20 minutes for fairly thin chops.  You don’t need to cook today’s pork to death, trust me.  I’ve had more than one culinary school graduate tell me that 145 is perfectly safe for pork, so that’s where I go, and I’m still walking around and not spending days in the head.  If you buy your pork from a reputable meat market or supermarket, you’ll be fine.

I served the chops with a really simple Curried Rice.

You’ll need

1/2 cup long grain white rice
1 cup water
1 chicken bullion cube
1 t curry powder.

Put rice in a saucepan and cover with water.  I’ve found that this 2 to 1 ratio of water to rice works every time.  Add the chicken bullion cube and the curry powder.  Bring to a boil, stir briefly, reduce the heat to the low side of medium low, cover and simmer for 14 minutes, or until all the water is absorbed.   Serves 2. 

Steam some veggies (tonight was broccoli florets and carrots.  I had a nice presentation I wish I’d taken a picture of.  I packed the rice in a shallow plastic storage bowl and turned it out onto the plate.  It made a nice round of rice about an inch and a half high.   Surround that with the veggies, lay the chop on the plate, and enjoy.

–scene–

Leave a comment

Filed under Food, Recipies

Leave a Reply

