Too Much Paper

panda.jpg

It’s amazing how much paper comes into this house.  I only write about this tonight because 1) I spent 3 hours of a beautiful Saturday cleaning up my home office and I threw away probably 10 pounds of paper and shredded another 5 … and 2) it’s 20 minutes to midnight and I’ve got nothing else to blog.  So there you go.

Not a week goes by that we don’t get a dozens and dozens of credit card offers, bank statements, insurance documents, bills, catalogs, magazines, refinance mortgage offers, coupons, and on and on and on and on.

And if the credit card companies aren’t sending offers for new cards or bills for your existing ones, they’re sending “convenience checks” so that you can incur more debt than ever before.  There have been a couple of days that I’ve clogged the shredder destroying convenience checks. 

Every time there’s the least little change in interest rate, or what ever, they have to send paper.  And it piles up and piles up and piles up … until it feels like we’re drowning in paper.

I’m not organized enought to keep track of it all, so I lose things.  Not often, but it seems like it’s an important bill or something that I need to return, and suddenly, it’s just not there.  And of course, my file cabinets are stuffed with recipts and bills running back years and  years.  I have no idea how long you’re supposed to hang on to all that stuff.

So, I threw away paper.  It felt like a ton.

I also threw away about a dozen 100M zip disks that I haven’t had in a drive in 3 years.  The drive died, and I figured if I hadn’t looked at the files for that long, I didn’t need them.  Pack rat that I am, I have a hard time letting go of those kinds of things.  But I’m betting I’ll never miss them.

Then there was the box full of cables and connectors and detritus that comes with every electronic device that you own.  I now have a storage bin that’s full of cables.  The kind of thing that you don’t want to pitch, because RCA connectors are pretty universal, and  you know they’ll come in handy at some point. 

So, piles and piles of paper.  I thought these newfangled computer things were supposed to cut down on the paper.  Hasn’t happened yet. 

Oh, and the picture at the top of the post, I just grabbed that off the tv.  Pretty cool, but I thought it was appropriate.

–scene–

Leave a comment

Filed under Beach Living, Thoughts

Leave a Reply

