The Great Silent Majority

i-voted.jpg

May have spoken.

John McCain won the Florida primary yesterday, and immediately the conservative blogs were all wringing their hands about how he is the likely nominee, and “is he conservative enough” … “can he appeal to the base” … “hold your nose and vote for him” because he’s the most “electable”.

So bicycling today, and it’s great to be back on the bike even though my legs might disagree, I thought “why does the Republican “Base” have to be the far right fringe?  Why does the middle no longer matter?

While I am registered with a political party, I don’t want to be part of the base if it means the far fringe of one side or the other.  Here’s what I DON’T want in a president.

I DON’T want a president who has any litmus test on any subject, with one exception.  The litmus test needs to be the U.S. Constitution.  That means no litmus test on abortion, or gay marriage, or any other social issue.  These are personal matters best decided by individuals. 

I DO want a president who will protect all Americans equally, regardless of race, creed, color, gender, transgender, or sexual orientation.  If that means letting gays get married, so be it.  I just can’t see a reason why, in the 21st century, it should be a problem.  With the divorce rate 50 percent nationally and 70 percent here in Duval county, the “sanctity of marriage” argument just doesn’t hold water.  I just don’t see how allowing gays to marry could make that worse.

I DON’T want a president for whom religion is his or her primary consideration.  I don’t care where, when, or if he or she goes to church. 

I DON’T want a president who constantly bashes “the rich”.  I’m sick to death of class warfare.  I think government should help those truly in need, but it’s just too easy to vilify “the rich”. 

Basically, I want a President that can start in the middle.  Not start on the far left or far right and then moves to the middle.  And I think McCain proved yesterday that it’s possible.  He seems to be the most moderate of any of the candidates from either party.  And he won Florida.  Pretty convincingly.  We’ll see how that carries through Super Tuesday next week.

–scene–

Leave a comment

Filed under Beach Living

Leave a Reply

