Fight Club

Leave it to me to write a review of a nearly 10-year-old movie, but I’d never seen Fight Club before, and a while back it was on HBO.  Not willing to watch it when they said I should, I recorded it on the DVR, and we watched it last night.Andie had seen it before, and said it was just an outstanding movie.  My friend Scott always said he wanted Improvjacksonville to be “the ‘Fight Club’ of Comedy”.  It was an interesting movie, to be sure.  After seeing it, I totally understand Scott’s affinity.  And maybe I’m just a little too … something … but while it was an enjoyable way to kill 2 1/2 hours on a rainy Friday night with a writers strike continually eroding the quality of what’s on television … it didn’t reach in and grab me.  After all the buildup, that’s kind of what I expected.

I don’t know why I expected it to be a little more realistic and a little less surreal than it was.  Maybe if I was approaching it on more of a surrealist level, it might have had more of an impression.  I will say, it kept my interest.  I put down the laptop and gave it my full attention.  At the end (and I’m assuming pretty much everyone but me has seen this movie by now), when it became evident that it was a man’s descent into madness, and his (at least partial) trip back, I at least better understood it.  And the tangent message of letting go of material things to truly be free made it make so much more sense for Scott, who I think really thinks he’d like to live that way.   That might be one of those situations where the wanting would be much more attractive than the having, but whatever. 

But what WAS interesting to me (and truthfully, a lot of it was interesting), was how much things have changed in just 9 years … starting with:

Pay Phones.  Edward Norton goes to a pay phone to call Brad Pitt after his condo blows up.  I know the book was originally written in 1996, but in the movie adaptation, it would have been very easy to have that call made on a cell phone.  The nuance of the pay phone ringing might have been lost, but since when have screen adapters been all that concerned about that kind of nuance.  In fact, there were a lot of rotary phones and wired wall phones in the movie.  My, how that techology has changed.

Computers:  There are no laptops.  No flat panel monitors … just big, clunky IBM clone PC’s.  Not an Apple in sight … much less an iPod or other mp3 player. 

Airline Security:  In a pre-9/11 movie … the biggest concern was apparently someone’s suitcase vibrating.

Again, not to say I didn’t enjoy the movie.  I don’t know what I expected, but that wasn’t really it.  I’m glad I watched it.  I’m equally glad I didn’t spend $20 on the DVD, or twice that much in 1999 to see it in the theater.

–scene–

Leave a comment

Filed under Beach Living

Leave a Reply

