It’s Cold

The Vista weather widget on my desktop says it’s 34 degrees here in Neptune Beach.  That’s way colder than normal, even for January.  For a while, there were snow flurries forecast for the beach tonight, but that’s changed.  It’s OK with me.  I’m not in the mood to see snow … ever.

Andie was threatening to get up at 4:30 in the morning to see if it snowed, but I told her not to bother to wake me.  I’ve seen it before.

All the plants are covered.  At least the ones that the cold might affect.  There’s a fire in the fireplace, which is keeping the heater from coming on as often.  It’s really pretty cozy in here right now.

Down to 33 outside.

the good news is, it never stays cold for very long.  By the weekend, it should be back up to around 70 and I can start back on the bike. 

The Widget now says it’s 32.  My outdoor thermometer says 38, but it’s attached to the house, so it might read a little warmer.  Sort of like all those sensors that they’re using to prove “global warming”.   Many of them are on asphalt parking lots or rooftops. 

My mom and I were talking about this the other day.  Landlocked Indiana was once a warm, inland sea.  Minute fossilized sea creatures are what created the veins of limestone that have made the area where I grew up famous.  Conversely, the reason Indiana is half hilly and half flat is because the glacier stopped about where Martinsville is today.  So it has been at times warm, subtropical ocean and at times glacial tundra.  And man had nothing to do with it.  This is why I’m a bit skeptical about Global Warming.  It was only 30 years ago that there was great hue and cry about Global Cooling, and a mini ice age was coming.  Now, if some are to be believed, Jacksonville will be mostly under water in 50-100 years.  I’m sorry, but I just don’t buy it.  I don’t doubt that the planet is getting slightly warmer.  It seems to happen with some regularity.  I also don’t doubt that it will cool again.  And I don’t think anything Al Gore can do will have a fart in a whirlwinds’ difference in climate change.  But I do think it’s a chuckle that President Bush’s house on the ranch in Crawford is way more energy efficient that Gore’s mansion in Tennessee.  Irony is sometimes a beautiful thing.

So, it’s cold in Florida.  In Key West, where the temp dropped to 58 earlier today, Andie’s dad called to say they were going nuts.  They’re better equipped down there to handle a category 4 hurricane than a 50 degree “cold” snap.  The good news is, it’ll get warmer.

And now, I’ll leave you with a picture I took today just because I can.  mic.jpg

 –scene–

Leave a comment

Filed under Cycling, Indiana, Weather

Leave a Reply

