Nothing Says “Christmas” …

palms-xmas.jpg…like red and green palm trees.  We have these flood-lit out front.  It’s not impossible for Christmas decorations to be tasteful. 

I took a few more, and they’re in the Christmas 07 set on Flickr.

So things are pretty well set now, and the shopping can begin. Actually, some of that is already done as well, but there’s more to come.

The ophthalmologist was very pleased with the progress my eye is making when I saw him this afternoon.  The scratch is completely healed, and my acuity is back to 20/25.  I still have some fuzziness and doubling in my vision in the right eye, but it so much improved from last Thursday that I’m finally thinking I’ll be back to 100% when it’s all done.  That’s very encouraging.  I don’t go back until Monday morning.

-0-

Have you ever seen a political poll … how can you miss them right now … and said “nobody ever polled me”.  Well, Quinnipaiac  just called here.  I can finally say I was contacted for a poll to which people actually pay attention.  The only disappointing thing was that the questions didn’t give me the opportunity to properly express my ambivalence about the candidates on my side of the debate.  I’m not particularly fussed with any of them on either side, so I’m hoping somebody does something to make me sit up and take notice.  So far, it’s shaping up to be another election where I’ll vote mostly because it’s the right thing to do.

Honestly, I don’t think there’s been an election where I was really enthusiastic about the candidates for 20 years.  The last time I didn’t go into the voting booth and hold my nose to vote was back in the ’80s, and I’m really getting tired of picking the least objectionable candidate.  Part of that is the electorates’ fault.  People keep saying they want positive campaigns, but only respond to the negative.   I’m encouraged that at least a few candidates are telling me what they intend to do, rather than how bad the current administration is.  For some, I’ll accept that you, Mr. or Ms. Candidate, think the current administration is awful.  Don’t make that the sum total of your campaign.  For those on the other side, don’t make it all about religion.  I really don’t care about religion.  I’m very discouraged at the amount of clout the “religious right” has with the Republican party.  Elections shouldn’t be about religion.  They should be about what’s best for the country, and if we believe the constitution, religion has very little to do with that. 

And so, with just 7 weeks before the primary here in Florida, I have no idea for whom I’m going to vote.  I was not asked that by the pollster tonight.  I wish I had been, because I’d be firmly in the “undecided” camp.  I’d like to move out of that camp by January 29th,

–scene–

Leave a comment

Filed under Beach Living, Holiday, Photos, Politics

Leave a Reply

