My Eye

Hurts.  Urgent care confirmed today that the cornea is scratched, and gave me some drops for it.  I’ll see Dr. Underwood tomorrow, and see what he says.  My biggest concern is that I can’t see very well.  I spent way too much money on this eye to have it get screwed up by an oleander leaf.  I’ve become quite accustomed to having a “bionic” eye, and seeing daymarks on the ocean 3 miles away.  Tonight, I can barely see across the room to the TV, and it’s not very clear.  That, frankly, sucks.

I’m not a good patient.  I’m certainly not a patient patient.  I hate to feel bad, and right now, I feel awful.  Between the sniffles and this eye injury, I’m just completely off my rhythm.  I shudder to think how it’s going to be when I really get old. 

It’s bad enough now when I can’t do the things I used to do, and there aren’t that many of them.  I don’t water ski any more, but I spend plenty of time out on the boat.  Well, not plenty.  But it would be fun to strap on a ski and see if I could still cut and jump the wakes.  I was never a stunter like the wakeboarders now.   We used long skis and went fast.  I still recall one afternoon at KenRay lake digging a ski tip coming across a wake at about 50 mph.  I literally rolled across the water for 30 0r 40 feet before finally settling in.  Knocked the wind out of me.  I was grateful for my PFD that day.  I don’t snow ski any more either.  My knees have taken both of those activities away from me.  But since I’m not all that fussed with snow, that’s not such a big deal.  Since it was snow skiing that gave me bad knees in the first place, you can see why I don’t really miss it that much.  I WOULD enjoy a trip to the mountains, though. I haven’t been to the Rockies for a long time, but that’s another post.

So, we’ll wait to see if my eye is better, or at least improving, tomorrow.  I don’t use the antibiotic drops again until 11:00, which should be just before bed, and we’ll see what the morning brings.

–scene–

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

