An Open Letter

To the imbecile who called me a pansy bicycle rider on First Street this evening.

What purpose did that serve?  Honestly.  I was in my lane, minding my own business, just getting a little exercise.  Why did you find it necessary to call me a name?  Are you really so insecure in your masculinity that you have to berate me?  Do you feel so small that you have to try to run down someone at random just to make yourself feel a little bigger?  Your life must be so unfulfilled.  I couldn’t have been hurting you in the slightest.  We were going opposite directions.  I didn’t hold you up at all.  I guess by insulting me, you made yourself look a little more manly in the eyes of whoever was in the car with you.  But I don’t understand it.  Honestly,  you’re pathetic.  You’re pitiable.  Because it that’s the best you can hope for, you’re life is really, really sad.  And you’re likely just so stupid, you don’t even know what a sad little life you’re leading.  All I can hope is that you’re not allowed to breed. 

The only thing worse would have been if I was a girl.  If you’ll say that to me, I’m sure you’re very respectful to women. 

 Yeah, right.

I wish I knew what makes you so hostile.  I hope, at some point,  you get help.  You need it.  I shouldn’t let the likes of you get to me, but you did.  That’s my bad, and I’ll do my best to not let it happen again.  You’re not worth the effort.  Just please stay off my beach.

Of course, this is not the first time I’ve had an issue while cycling.  I’ve been insulted, had things thrown at me from condo balconies, had silly string shot at me from a moving car, it’s amazing that people can really be that bored, stupid, or mean.  But I HAVE taken to carrying pepper spray with me when I ride.  It’s a sad, sad commentary that I don’t feel safe riding my bicycle on a public street in a little beach town, but I don’t.  I’m just hotheaded enough to flip off the morons that make me mad, rather than just riding on.  I’m sure eventually some redneck is going to want to confront me about that, so I have pepper spray in easy reach on the bike, and I’m never without it.  I really need to learn to let it go and just avoid any confrontation, but even that might not be enough.  So I’ll carry my pepper spray and hope I never have to take it off the handlebar stem.  But I’m not going to be afraid to do it.

So please, if anyone reads this (which is highly unlikely) who has had the urge to say something disparaging to a cyclist, please think twice about it.  Please.  We’re not out there to be in your way.  We’re not threatening to you in any way.   We’re just trying to get a little exercise, and didn’t want to drive to the gym to get it.  I’m literally out there for my health, and I really enjoy the ride … until some idiot has to give themselves the illusion of building him or herself up by tearing a complete stranger down.   The only person you make look small is you.  I may be overweight, and you may think I look like a pansy on my bike with my shaved legs and spandex shorts.  But you’ll never be any smarter, and I’m always going to be a notch or six above you on the evolutionary scale.

Deal with it.

–scene–

1 Comment

Filed under Beach Living, Cycling, Neptune Beach

One response to “An Open Letter

  1. Pingback: www.bodybuildingandexercises.info » An Open Letter

Leave a Reply

