2600 Miles and Other Observations

Another milestone.  After riding just over 16 miles tonight, I’m up to 2600.  I don’t know if I can make 3000 by the end of the year, but it’s certainly a goal.  I’ve been riding after work instead of in the morning since the time change, and I’m finishing in the dark.  Hell, I’m pretty much starting in the dark at 6:00.  But it’s still a little warmer in the afternoon.   The wind was up and out of the north this evening.  I started south, and rode down to the St. Johns County line, then turned north.  The north leg kicked my ass riding into a 10-15 mph headwind.  Still, I managed to average 15.5 miles per hour over the 16 miles of the ride.  That’s not to bad.  Burned over 1000 calories, which will at least offset the two donuts I ate today.

-0-

Television and movie writers are on strike.  I wonder if we’ll notice when the shows run out of new material.  Since we so rarely watch the late-night yackers, it’s not been an issue.  Dave does so many re-runs anyway, and that’s the only one we’ve watched with any regularity.  Still, I’m having a difficult time dredging up a lot of sympathy for sitcom scribblers.  Maybe if they’d had an original idea occasionally, it might be different, but I stopped watching most sitcoms when I realized that I could pretty much predict any plot “twist” about 3 minutes into the show.  I just lost interest.  Dave was getting to be the same way.  I think I’d seen one too many “Great Moments in Presidential Speeches” bits.  We get it, you think the President’s not a great speaker.  It’s still disingenuous to compare the soaring rhetoric of any other President’s speech writer with the off-the-cuff remarks of W.  No, he’s not the best public speaker, but c’mon.  I guess if that’s the best the writers can do, then maybe the need some time off to freshen things up. 

-0-

The marina is under new management.  It think that’s a good thing.  The new manager was the old manager, so he and his family know the place.  The best news got from them is that my storage bill is unlikely to go up in the short term.  The place had fallen into pretty bad disrepair.  Docks on the bottom, basin in dire need of dredging, other docks literally crumbling and falling down … apparently the owners came down from Atlanta and were appalled.  I guess with their other properties on Lake Lanier near Atlanta pretty much high and dry from the drought … they need this one to make some money.  As long as they don’t try to make it all back from me, that’s OK.  Dennis, the new manager, was talking about some community-building activities that might be fun.  We used to do that kind of thing at the marina where we kept the sailboat in Maryland.  Maybe a little of that will come back.

-0-

I hate that music I used to listen to is now on commercials, but why are they playing “Sweet Home ALABAMA” to sell KENTUCKY Fried Chicken?  I guess “My Old Kentucky Home” just didn’t rock well enough.

 -0-

Tonight, it was country style ribs and sauerkraut.  Andie doesn’t eat sauerkraut, but it flavored the ribs nicely.

4-5 country style ribs.   1T garlic powder.  1t each onion powder, smoked paprika, mustard powder.  10 grinds black pepper.  1/8t chipotle chili powder.  Kosher salt.

Combine dry ingredients on a paper plate.  Salt ribs and roll in dry rub, shaking off excess.  Heat 1T canola oil in a cast iron skillet and brown ribs. Set aside.

1 cup sauerkraut, rinsed well.  1/2 cup red wine. 1/4 cup beef stock. 1/8 t fennel seeds, ground.  4 apple slices.  1 clove garlic, minced. 1T thyme.

Deglaze the skillet with wine and beef stock.  Stir in sauerkraut, garlic, and fennel seeds.  Return ribs to the skillet and add apple slices.  Reduce heat to low and sprinkle thyme over the ribs.  Cover and braise for about an hour.  To serve, remove ribs and stir as much of the apple as desired into the sauerkraut.  Plate kraut and top with ribs.  Enjoy.

–scene–

Leave a comment

Filed under Boat Stuff, Cycling, Recipies, Television

Leave a Reply

