Who’ll Stop the Rain?

Whoever it was, they finally did.  After 4 solid days of rain, it finally let up today.  But not until after another thunderstorm this morning that kept me off the bike until this afternoon.  Some areas of town have recorded up to 3-4 inches of rain in the past few days, depending on where you live.  So, no threat of drought for a while, and our irrigation well should be fine going into the winter … particularly when it doesn’t get used as much.

There are a couple of things out in the Atlantic that bear watching, but everything says upper level winds are not particularly conducive to tropical storm development.  The one they say MAY do something might not hold together very long.  Let’s hope for the best.

Meanwhile, I did get out to ride this afternoon, and put another 16 miles on the tires.  It felt really good to be out on the bike again.  I hadn’t ridden since last Wednesday, so I was glad to finally be out.  Lots of bikes on 1st street and Ponte Vedra Boulevard today, so I’m guessing there was a lot of pent-up energy being released.  Sort of like it used to be in the wintertime up north with cabin fever.  Fortunately here, it only lasts a week or so tops, rather than the months it can last there.

In other news, Dish Network still hasn’t sent me a receiver.  I’m hoping that it will be here by this weekend.  I’m pretty pissed of at them at this point, and will call again tomorrow to be sure it’s actually shipped.  I’ll spare you the entire, stupid story, but their customer service has really gone down a few notches in my estimation.  I just hope they credit by bill appropriately as they said they would.

Nothing much else happening here.  It’s quiet without the television, but that’s not such a bad thing.  Pledge starts next week, but I’ll try to keep up the blog regardless. 

–scene–

Leave a comment

Filed under General, Neptune Beach, Weather

Leave a Reply

